SUMMER HAS BEGUN…


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 9th 2004
Published: May 9th 2004
Edit Blog Post

Forest LightingForest LightingForest Lighting

Wonderful play of light throught the Beech Trees in the Chilterns Forest area. Quite proud of this shot actually...
Hells Bells, there just never seems to be time for most things anymore. I can remember days in Zim when I was bored and had time to spare in the evenings and weekends. That sure has gone by the wayside.
So anyway, that is the reason for my generic letter to so many of you at the same time, please forgive me!!!

Well, lets see....
Life, finally, seems to be settling down into a manageable morass of do and don't. Having gotten shot of the shitty job, have settled very nicely into the recruiting world and getting to grips with that. Infact, the bosses have now decided that I need to be promoted off administration and into recruiting and mentoring fully. Now, not that I was too keen on it at first, kinda liked the even keel I had, and was loath to rock my boat again, but these things are not always left to our choices.
So, as of last week, I have my own lap top (which I hate as cant get my fingernails onto the silly little keyboard), have had to move desk, am training up a new admin girl and am due to re-launch myself as
Carpet of BluebellsCarpet of BluebellsCarpet of Bluebells

Okay, have to confess - these little flowers are pretty, and I could not smell a damn thing! Who said they have a wonderful perfume... ?
a fully fledged consultant! Ugh!

Summer, Thankfully seems to be on it's way here. Mind you, it is taking its time, as we seem to be getting nothing much other than rain at the moment. For the last 2 weekends I have been on the trail of the Bluebells, since now is the season. Has afforded me some nice walks in the woods, wonderful outings to get away from it all, hug a tree or two, and catch fleeting glimpses of bunnies. One or two of which have seemed to be inordinately large! All the trees are in either bloom, or young leaf, and birds happily awaken the sleeping populace at around 4am.
Actually, I can understand a person throwing shoes and the likes at them, since that seems to be a somewhat unfair time in the morning to awaken us. Hells bells, the bleeding airplanes only start at 6am going overhead! Cant they just wait a little while!??
Evenings are long, with it only getting dark after around 9.30 now. Kinda throws your day out aswell, that, as you still feel it is early yet, but when you look again, since it is now suitably dark outside, it
Pippa ..  is that you?Pippa ..  is that you?Pippa .. is that you?

Rathe wet, and all this horse wanted to do was nible at my fingers, with Big, very ugly teeth!
is around 11pm!!!

My little bit of garden is proving to be somewhat slow on the uptake of my demands of it! I mowed the lawn, with the weed eater as could not justify taking the lawn mower out of the shed to crop a 2 and half-meter patch of scraggly green!! Sweated and laboured over planting around 50 bulbs of assorted colours and names, no - I don’t remember what they were other than Glads and Lilies!! And all, so far, to no seeming avail! Not a bleeding spot of colour in the garden, if you don’t count the ivy that is going yellow with too much rain! The bulbs have taken their time to come up, and so far have produced nothing but leaves. This gardening stuff takes too much time, next time I go buy instant colour by the box full and shove it in heaps and masses, and get instant gratification. I always was an impatient person I guess......

I am having a great time riding around in GG, my newly acquired motorised friend. GG, of course stands for Green Goddess. Not that green is my favourite colour, (designated to trees and grass by
GG  the Green GodessGG  the Green GodessGG the Green Godess

Cool car... with CD player!
nature - not clothes or cars!) but when limiting the budget for a car to a measly £500, one cannot afford to be too fussy, really. Rodger, bless his heart, did me proud, and after I smacked his left hand side firmly into the lamppost in the parking lot, he seemed to gradually grow to disliking me, for some strange reason. Lots of little things went wrong, windows temperamental, wipers going wonky, mushrooms growing under the back seat, and a rather pungent odour arising from the boot. Mind you, I still suspect that was due to the petrol tank never being right again after it was re-attached. Oh, and it took forever to put petrol in, since the filler pipe remained bent, and you had to dribble the damn stuff it as it could not get past the bend fast enough!! Rodger was given away to a motor dealer for free, what the hell, let him make some money from it. And GG was acquired with just a minimum of searching. GG being a Brit Racing Green Renault 19 1.8lt RSI. No, RSI does not, in this case, stand for Repetitive Strain Injury!!!
Everything works, the heater, wipers, even the
Tinturn AbbeyTinturn AbbeyTinturn Abbey

Beautiful ruined abbey at Tinturn - pity they had closed it so we could not browse around ! Welome to British Heritage stay out!
onboard CD player, so am driving in style again. Mind you, think on the first service she goes on am going to ask them to jet her how a bit, since she has quite a thirst on her, and at a whole £0.79.9p per litre, that can be a bit much...

Life on the home front should soon be returning to something of the normal, whatever that is. Aimee (sister's youngest) has been staying with me now for just over 2 months and is due to move into her own place at the end of the month. It has been fun to have her stay, and even though she accuses me of snoring, she does her fair share of it herself!! And she keeps stealing the duvet, or creeping to my side of the bed!!
We took a great trip up to Wales at the beginning of the month, just to see what it was like over there, and besides dodging the multitude of sheep, the change in scenery was wonderful. All them hills and heather!! Aimee was not overly impressed, being 18 her attention span to mother nature is rather limited, and she confessed London was good, Wales
Rhonda Valley ViewRhonda Valley ViewRhonda Valley View

Up high in the hills - the smell of fresh air and heather and green stuff is pretty cool. Just ignore the sheep doo doo...
was really for the old farts only!
Guess she is extremely happy her pals will be arriving at the end of the month, so she has someone to go out with and have fun, as this old fart here has not done a lot with her. London city is really just a pit of heaving body masses, all fighting for space on tubes or busses, pushing and shoving in the shops and on the pavements, and I could happily do without it all.

The copyediting and proof reading venture has stalled somewhat halfway out of the starting blocks. The book I was working on has gone to print, so the exercise work I was diligently doing does not have time to be read anymore, and anyway, it is sort of defunct now the book is in print.
The chap who was "teaching" me has suggested that I could be in on the next project, which is certainly good news.
Still think I may end up having to fork out for one of those courses on this stuff, but will wait a bit and see. Who knows, I may yet end up editing books and stuff whilst sitting under the
Streets of MalmesburyStreets of MalmesburyStreets of Malmesbury

Stopped over here to stretch legs, walked about, quaint and picturesque village
shade of a tree, in deep outer Wales or Cornwall, sipping home made wine and smoking a home rolled fag!!!

Colleen and I have made a pact, and we are now learning to wear purple and to spit, as per the famous poem by Jenny Joseph.... which I have attached a portion of below. I think we should all go for it, wearing purple, picking other peoples flowers and learning how to spit!!!
I am building up my bohemian wardrobe in preparation for the great day I have enough pluck to tell the world I don’t so long as I can wear purple!



Jenny Joseph (1932-)

WHEN I WEAR PURPLE
When I am an old woman, I shall wear purple
With a red hat, which doesn't go, and doesn't suit me.
And I shall spend my pension on brandy and summer gloves
And satin sandals, and say we've no money for butter.
I shall sit down on the pavement when I'm tired
And gobble up samples in shops and press alarm bells
And run my stick along the public railings
And make up for the sobriety of my youth.
I shall go out in my
Welsh Mutton - on the HoofWelsh Mutton - on the HoofWelsh Mutton - on the Hoof

Cheeky chap this one - poked his head in the car window and attempted to steal the ciggy out of my hand! What they teach them sheep in Wales - eh?
slippers in the rain
And pick the flowers in other peoples' gardens
And learn to spit.

I can wear terrible shirts and grow more fat
And eat three pounds of sausages at a go
Or only bread and pickle for a week
And hoard pens and pencils and beermats and things in boxes.

But now I must have clothes that keep me dry
And pay my rent and not swear in the street
And set a good example for the children.
And invite friends to dinner and read the papers.

But maybe I ought to practise a little now?
So people who know me are not too shocked and surprised
When suddenly I am old, and start to wear purple.

Okay, that is all for now from a dismal, overcast London.



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Bridge over River SevernBridge over River Severn
Bridge over River Severn

From England to Wales - heading for Cardiff - impressive bridge over mudflats - which is probably water on occasions.
Old Church  MalmesburyOld Church  Malmesbury
Old Church Malmesbury

Wonderful old church, parts of it still in full use! Aimee in forground.


Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0422s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb