First arrived in Europe


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
May 18th 2005
Published: August 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Morning everyone,

how's it going? I've arrived in London and must say I'm enjoying it so far (well, all 36 hours of it anyway).

I think London is a very nice but very soft introduction to travelling in europe. Everyone still speaks your language, they're relatively polite, and it's quite reminiscent of home.

(And now those who have been to London and know about the little quirks can stop reading now).

London is quite fast paced, everyone walks quickly in comparison to my lazy ambling, partly exacerbated by my new pair of all-stars (Eug, these shoes are REALLY narrow!). The tube is a breeze and the gap is not that big, which makes me wonder why they bother talking about it at all (gaps between train and platforms in Melbourne are cavernous in comparison).

It's actually quite pleasant here when the sun's out, but when it's cloudy London looks terribly gray and drab, which means the hues of red and greens that people wear become all the more vivid and noticeable. If black defines melbourne (which is what everyone wears), gray is London's colour choice.

You will be glad to hear I've found a London equivalent of Beat magazine already. It's called Time out and sadly it costs money £2.50 (~A$6.50) but now I know what's happening around here (Billy Corgan is playing on the 16th June...should be good, Missy Higgins at the start of June...hahaha). Anyone who can suggest a free equivalent of Beat, it will be welcomed.

The London ladies are a very attractive lot, but I haven't decided if it's because they actually are or if it's more because I'm in an 'exotic' land. I haven't bumped into another Australian yet but I'm sure it's just a matter of time. I have committed the cardinal tourist sin though and have frequented a McDonald's (I was desparate!!). Though that being said, this place has a ridiculous number of American franchised stores though so it's hard to actually not walk into one.

Nephew Ryan is well and he's a happy little chappy. Very cute too, and I think I'm warming more to kiddies now that I've actually been in close proximity to one (well ones that don't cry and and throw tantys anyway).

Anyways, I will take a brief respite now and go explore some more.

Suggested soundtrack while wandering the London streets: Portishead. Their trip hop mood music provides an appropriate backdrop to wandering the laneways in London, expecially on a gray cloudy day.

I'm missing you all heaps...

cheers,
Ben



Advertisement



Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.04s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb