All about Albert


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London
August 28th 2018
Published: August 28th 2018
Edit Blog Post


The Albert Memorial with the Royal Albert Hall behind.
Little did I know when I set out this morning that my day would revolve around a man.... it seems Queen Victoria‘s consort was quite the mensch.

First, I hastened across Hyde Park to visit the glorious abundance of the Victoria and Albert Museum. My focus was on natural materials: silk, precious metals and gemstones, all of which the V&A houses quite a haul!

A midday nosh at the cafe made me sleepy, so I used my big scarf to nap on the grass beside the Albert Memorial, but not before scoring an $8 (!!!) ticket to attend an evening concert at the Royal Albert Hall.

I wandered up embassy row, had a cider at a pub near the Kensington Garden gates, then returned to my hotel to rest and freshen up.

An early supper at London’s #1 fish and chips shop (Notting Hill) and a bus ride (past the famed, flower-bedecked Churchill Pub) got me into queu in time. My seatmate, Patricia Lloyd, comes to the RAH every night, and explained that we were fortunate to score seats in “the arena,” as most folks at floor level stand or sit (or lie down) for the entire
V&AV&AV&A

Interior courtyard with cafe.
three-hour performance! I was as interested in people watching (and trying to spot a Royal in the Queen’s box) as I was in the music.

After the concert (10 pm), I considered using Uber, but managed to catch an immediate bus back to Notting Hill, and walked (purposefully, with my program rolled up like a baton) through quiet neighborhoods to my hotel. Tomorrow: Kew Gardens!

NOTE: I will probably post daily while in London, since there so much to do/relate. I go to Norwich Thursday, where and when I will likely slow the blogging pace. (Still learning how to negotiate these blogging tools, I finally figured out how to caption photos, so I’ve amended the first entries.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

V&AV&A
V&A

Fashions in natural materials
V&AV&A
V&A

Fashions in silk
V&AV&A
V&A

One of a dozen gold box collections
V&AV&A
V&A

That’s some wine cooler!
Nap timeNap time
Nap time

By the Albert Memorial
V&AV&A
V&A

Opals are a favorite
V&AV&A
V&A

A cosmos of dinner rings
V&AV&A
V&A

‘Nuff said
V&AV&A
V&A

For my Leo friends
V&AV&A
V&A

Avocado crayfish bruschetta
Embassy RowEmbassy Row
Embassy Row

Along tree-shaded Kensington Gardens Road
Champion PubChampion Pub
Champion Pub

Time for a sip of cider
Notting HillNotting Hill
Notting Hill

Portobello Road
Cod BitesCod Bites
Cod Bites

At Notting Hill Fish and Chips, voted #1 two years straight.
Churchill PubChurchill Pub
Churchill Pub

I couldn’t believe I’d found it on my bus route!
Royal Albert Hall Royal Albert Hall
Royal Albert Hall

My helpmate, Patricia, and I await the throngs.
Royal Albert Hall Royal Albert Hall
Royal Albert Hall

The orchestra
Royal Albert Hall Royal Albert Hall
Royal Albert Hall

The program (Patricia wrote in the length of each piece)
Royal Albert Hall Royal Albert Hall
Royal Albert Hall

Most folks lasted, motionless, on their feet. Not all.
Royal Albert Hall Royal Albert Hall
Royal Albert Hall

Striped shirt guy is ASLEEP on a stick.


Tot: 0.251s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb