Having a spot of tea with my fish and chips, darlings.


Advertisement
Published: May 22nd 2012
Edit Blog Post

Well here I am, in the land of royalty, cockney accents, fish and chips, milky tea and and endless sea of concrete and tourists - London. I'm in Westminster actually and was able to stop on over and see the changing of the guard, quite a big whoop I guess, though, meh, I would give it a resounding OK. London is being torn apart right now in preparation for the coming Olympics and as such even Buckingham Palace is just one massive construction zone. The spectacle of it all is quite amusing, but between the hundreds (literally hundreds, if not thousands) of young students, and fellow rubberneckers, I am not sure that this is on the top of my list.

Big Ben was quite a site as well as the offices of the Parliament. The Thames, when you are at home you imagine this romantic walk along the river, though you never quite imagine the river running brown, with amphibious duck boats hauling tourists around. The romance is in the mind my friends! What the hell anyways, I'm traveling alone, what do I care!

Aside from everything else, on the top of my list is my family! Whooohooo yay family. I lost my wallet in Iceland and they have set to work getting me a new debit card sent over, canceling my cards and wiring me some money as I was quite desperate, with literally 20 pence in my pocket by the time my English best friend (as he was the one giving me the money) said, There you go now miss. The accents are thick, I know that sounds naive, and it is to say so, but the first real accent I heard made me to a double take, and think, wow, this is for real!

All in all, London is very easy to get around in. The gardens and public spaces are absolutely gorgeous, and a welcome refuge from this concrete city. Fish and chips are freaking delicious and the bacon, oh-my-gosh the bacon. The kind I have had is quite salty, with a smoky flavor, and lots of it! So, I now leave you with the thought of the best bacon in the world on your lips!

Advertisement



22nd May 2012

Lost your wallet!
OMG...Lost your wallet? Was your passport in it? You go girl...you can handle anything! You made it to London, found a new best friend who even gave you some money, and it doesn't sound like you are too worried about it. Amber - you go for it! Enjoy the ride! Keep in touch....
24th May 2012

I still had my passport thank goodness
Or I would have been in a terrible panic. Other than that things are going pretty well. Hope you are doing good too! Amber

Tot: 0.272s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0803s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb