London Winter & Waitangi Day Part II


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » West Hampstead
February 14th 2009
Published: March 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hampstead HeathHampstead HeathHampstead Heath

Just up the road from my flat. And look, blue sky!
Well since I have had hundreds of my fans write in asking for the next installment, I thought I should keep you all abreast of things that are happening this side of the world. It can basically be summed up in two words. It’s cold.

I was thinking the other day that winter started last October when London had its first October snow in 30 odd years, and it’s still going in February when we had London’s biggest snowfall in 20 odd years. 5 months of winter?!? It makes me extra glad I’ll be seeing a lot of the sun in Costa Rica in a few weeks.

After I got back from New York, it was back to work to top up the funds before my long trip, but a week in, I was told the following Friday is my last day. Nice of them to give me some notice! Especially when they knew they were going to get rid of me before Christmas! Anyway, despite the credit crunch flooding the market with candidates, I was, obviously, a cut above the rest and only had a nice weeks rest before I scored a contract that would keep me going
Kim and IKim and IKim and I

My flatmate and I outside our flat playing in the snow. I kicked her arse in the snowball fight too.
until I left.

In the week off, I was much busier than I ever was at Live Nation! I managed to tick the majority of stuff off my list of things to do before South America, and even managed to catch up with fellow un-employee Alaina to check out Tate Modern.

As a result of the treacherous weather, I’ve only managed one Leeds game, and what a game it was! A 3-1 win over a very good side sitting a few places above us in the table. I did manage to see some more football with my first taste of Emirates Stadium for a friendly between Brazil and Italy. The majority of stars were out on show and Brazil were deserved 2-0 winners. As for the stadium, it’s no Elland Road or Wembley, but it wasn’t bad.

Then at the beginning of February came the highlight of every Kiwi’s London year, the Waitangi Day Pub Crawl. The day dawned fine and after cooking up a healthy breakfast of bacon, eggs, sausages, and hash browns for my flatmates, I introduced them (2 South African girls and 1 Aussie) to the Kiwi celebrations. The crowds were out in force
Snow!Snow!Snow!

Just behind our flat
again and it seemed everywhere I looked I saw someone I knew, including some people I hadn’t seen since school days.

One of the highlights for me was walking through South Kensington and walking past a hotel where the Hull Football Team were emerging. They didn’t know what hit them, but they were soon initiated into our fervour, and they ended up with a great result against Chelsea which resulted in their manager being sacked. So as a Kiwi, I fully take the credit for getting Chelsea’s manager fired!

We made it to Westminster in time for the haka, and I got in close for some photos and before I knew it, I was being pushed forward and was part of the group doing the haka! To be honest, I wasn’t that disappointed and I even remembered it fully from school! From there we headed towards Temple, but didn’t stay long before I was exhausted and headed home for some well earned rest.

From there, the countdown was on. Only 2 weeks until I left and I spent it basically organizing my stuff and getting rid of my flat. I also managed to get to a League
The morning afterThe morning afterThe morning after

Our table in our little back garden. So much snow that it shut London transport down and we got a day off! Score!
Two football game with Ben and several more Hapkido lessons. Unfortunately I will just miss out on grading again! But the last two weeks flew by, and after some leaving drinks, before I knew it, I was up in the air on my way to………..Auckland!



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

My roadMy road
My road

With my flatmate Ally desperate to get in the shot
The road off my roadThe road off my road
The road off my road

How picturesque! This doesn't show the mayhem the ice caused for weeks afterwards. Heaps of broken bones! None of mine of course.
Hull CityHull City
Hull City

The football team we passed on the Waitangi Day Pub Crawl. That's Jimmy Bullard, the 5 million pound signing from Fulham looking my way. We had a great chat!
Parliament SquareParliament Square
Parliament Square

The Kiwi hordes marching in
Kiwi HordesKiwi Hordes
Kiwi Hordes

Ready for the haka to take place....
Big BenBig Ben
Big Ben

As the sun sets on another awesome Waitangi Day Pub Crawl
RonaldinhoRonaldinho
Ronaldinho

Arguably one of the greatest footballers in the world. Better than the pansy by Moanchester United anyway.
Emirates StadiumEmirates Stadium
Emirates Stadium

Packed full of mostly Brazilian and a few Italian fans. Great atmosphere.
Alaina and IAlaina and I
Alaina and I

At my leaving party. I won't see her for ages as she will be going home via India when i'm in South America. Good luck Alaina!
Me and my 'loving' flatmatesMe and my 'loving' flatmates
Me and my 'loving' flatmates

Megs, me and Kim at my leaving party
My last dayMy last day
My last day

And the weather wished me a fond farewell as I watched the sun set over Hyde Park


Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 26; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb