"I was born to travel and write verse."


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Stratford
October 22nd 2008
Published: October 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello!

After much consideration this is the site I am going to use to record my ten week trip to America. It's something I have wanted to do for a very long time now and unemployment twinned with my parents going to Australia (so they can't complain about me going!) seems to indicate that now is the best time to go.

If you have any suggestions at any point, either about the website or about the trip itself they are very warmly welcomed.

A fair bit of this entry is a repeat of the e-mail that a few people will already have received from me earlier on this month. I intend on posting an updated itinerary shortly as well because things just keep changing!

The idea of this trip is to see as much as I can in a (relatively) short time and then decide where I want to go back to for the next trip, or trips. Am doing as much as possible by train or bus so I can at least see the in-between-y-bits as well. I am hoping to book my flights very soon. I have just extended the trip by four days due to two things: one, I was told off for not spending enough time in New York City, where most of my friends are based. Two, I am now staying until January 21st so I get to see a brand new President arrive.

I am having massive problems finding places to stay at the moment. Hostels in the US seem to run on the same idea, but not the same places, as Amtrak. Put lots of them in a few places and don't bother with some others. I had my pick of places in Baltimore but can't as yet find anywhere in Pittsburgh. Most beguiling.

Next step is to find out places to stay in the remaining cities that I have yet to find options.
Many of my amazing friends have offered accommodation (and short of my best friend who was pretty much press-ganged into it have done so willingly, and he only has no choice because he's the reason for this trip). I cannot thank you all enough. Honestly, I could not have made this trip if you had not offered to put me up.
I am however looking to find somewhere to stay in almost every city that I am hoping to stay in because I like to have places to go to in cases of emergency. I would never want to assume that I could stay no matter what, and there will be a plan B, and maybe C, as well. Likewise, I am looking up routes around the Southern states although, fingers-crossed, I will be hoping to do much of it with the amazing Ms. Daters.
I'll be an organiser until I die.

Thanks for reading this far, more to follow soon.
Vick.

p.s. If you're interested the title is from Théophile Gautier!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb