Modern Art and Ancient Manuscripts


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
March 14th 2012
Published: March 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was my last day in London for awhile as I depart henceforth to Espana! Ay de mi que fabuloso, you might being saying to yourself. Maybe not. Regardless—



Yesterday I went to the Tate Modern Art Museum and I can honestly say that it’s one of the most stimulating and beautifully presented collections I’ve seen while here. The space itself is reminiscent of an enormous warehouse, the entrance has a high ceiling tangled with intersecting metal supports.



The walls of each floor offer a depiction of a timeline including artists and movements to contextualize the material and remind one of chronology. The place is all clean lines with personality instead of coolness and clever touches.



In return for my coat at the coat check, I got a small metal tile with a number. How cool is that?



The exhibit on Surrealism, Poetry and Dream, was sensational. Works by all of my old favs adorned the walls and interacted with one another. (See pics). Surrealist art has always been a favorite of mine because it combines technical skill with imagination to make work that is sometimes pleasing, sometimes ugly, but nearly always provocative, arresting, and profound.



You can check my FACEBOOK for pictures of this exhibition and the next one, it was called Energy and Process. This stuff was wacky, provocative, and interacted aggressively with the viewer.



One artistic duo whose work I found particularly exciting was that of Igor and Svetlana Kopystiansky. You know that creepy guy with the camera in American Beauty? Well this couple spent two years compiling and then arranging footage of various urban detritus waltzing through the wind. It was really cool but also kinda SMH.



The highlight of the trip, perhaps, was having the opportunity to participate in making modern art. Artist Yayoi Kusama caused quite a buzz recently with her installation the Obliteration Room . I got to participate in the second installation ever of the work. WOW! It was special and I got the guards to give me extra stickers!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.111s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb