Weekend (Shakespeare+Castles+SuperBowl)


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Southwark
February 17th 2011
Published: February 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Stratford-upon AvonStratford-upon AvonStratford-upon Avon

Where Shakespeare grew up
Day 10-Today I went to Stratford upon Avon, it was awful because I had to wake at 7 am to make it to the tube station at 740. It didn’t help that my flat-mates through a flat party with around 70 people in attendance. I enjoyed it while I was still up but then as I was trying to fall asleep, it was a little to loud so I ended up staying up til 5 am.

However, I made it to the tube station and fell asleep on the bus ride there.

I could go on for days about the sites I saw at Stratford-upon-Avon, and it had double meaning for me since I am taking a Shakespeare class. It was interesting to see where the playwright grew up, went to school, and now where his ashes remain. It was awesome to have a knowledgeable tour guide. After the Shakespearian Tour, we got a chance to grab some much-needed fish and chips. It was very necessary for me. I also ventured to a Teashop and had some English afternoon Tea. It was great sitting on the main street, across from Shakespeare’s birthplace enjoying a cup of fine tea while admiring the city and the people.

We then went to Warwick Castle. WOW!! I have never been to a true castle before and it was crazy to see. I was at a loss for words. We got all the necessary pictures and we got to roam the castle doing as we pleased. We went to the top of the castle and saw the look out. My fear of heights definitely kicked in and the fact that the wind was very strong did not help any. The view was worth it though. You could see for miles and could see all the churches with-in 5 miles.

We also went and saw the dungeon and it was some seriously messed up stuff. I won’t even describe some of the torture tactics they used. It was definitely interesting to see though. I also tried to take the sword out of the stone, no one got a picture of it but I pulled the sword out. We also read about all the history between kings and queens and the affairs that were involved. The British royalty definitely have there share of racy stories. I will always remember seeing Warwick castle and my
Country sideCountry sideCountry side

View from the back side of Warwick Castle
experience there.

We then headed home and the ride back seemed longer than the trek there. I couldn’t fall asleep and never got comfortable so I was not a happy camper.

That night I went to a pub/club called the blue-eyed maid. I went with Jomar and met up with a few other Americans, and Michael peters and his rugby team. They are an interesting group to say the least. Liz got named and it was quite embarrassing for her.

This was the first time I experienced “The Rules” for drinking with these rugby guys.
• No first names
• No pointing
• Can not say the word “drink” have to use word such as beverage or beveragize
• You can only drink with your left hand
• You can’t except a drink from someone(they have to set it down for you)
• At all times there is a Golf ball going around and if it is dropped in your drink you have to chug it. It is then your golf ball to drop in someone’s drink. However, you can cover your drink.

This was a fun night and im sure I will be named in the future and we will most likely get more in to “the rules.”

Day 11- I got up and went on a run with Liz as I had promised her. We then made eggs and sausages that I had previously bought from borough market. Lisa joined Liz and I to visit Trafalgar Square. It was the Chinese New Year and so there were so many people there. I didn’t get into the whole Chinese New Year thing, but I enjoyed seeing all of the people. As we walked back from the Chinese New Year, we walked toward Big Ben and had to walk by a protest. They didn’t take to kindly to American since they were protesting for Egypt. We tried to hurry by, but I had to stop and get a picture.

When we got back I started to not feel to good. I started having a sore throat and was really tired I ended up taking a nap that I never got up from. Everyone was texting me about what to do for the Super Bowl but I wasn’t even up to watch that. I slept through the entire game. I actually had a dream where
Chinese New YearChinese New YearChinese New Year

Lisa and I near the festivities
the steelers were up by touchdown in the 4th and the Packers came back to win on a last minute drive. I later found out thats not what happened, but i still like to think thats what happened. I did like that my flat mates came and told me who won and asked if I needed anything.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb