Last Notes for London


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Soho
June 30th 2013
Published: June 30th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Fulham v ChelseaFulham v ChelseaFulham v Chelsea

Awesome seat for the game
This being my last publish about London I will combine everything that happened for like 4 days in whatever order I feel like just because I can.

I love Soho it is like the average mans town area I think. It has the cheap pubs, good pubs, theaters, and lots of shops. So I would spend a lot of time in Soho just wandering around. On one particular day I was out wandering during breakfast time and found a cool looking place called the Breakfast Club. Naturally that being one of the greatest movies ever I had to check it out. Very little to do with the movie but a little. Anywho it was a nice little place to get breakfast and I got myself a full English breakfast, and I tell you what it was awesome. There was so much food and so many different items, eggs, bacon, sausage, toast, black pudding, baked beans, fried bread, and more but I don’t remember. It was all so good and I was happy to be in a country that has breakfast, like here in Italy when I go out for breakfast it is a cappuccino and a Croissant, that’s it these people don’t know what they are missing. Anywho in Soho someplace this place exists and it’s amazing and if I ever go back to London I will find it and go again.

I dono if I have already said so but there are two of my favorite pubs in Soho also: the Queens Head and the dog and duck. They both have an amazing staff and amazing food not just fish and chips but pies and other things too. One time I was wondering around at night and it was the first time I was checking out the queens head and the power was out for the whole block so I walk in and they are like we're closed no power and I mention my understanding and minor annoyance but it was out of their hands. So a few hours I wandered back and the power was back and they remembered me and gave me my first pint on the house which made them cooler that they already were.

I was walking around one day and thought that I should check out a football match since I am in England and all. I walk around and find one of the free wifi areas, (they are everywhere and its free, AWESOME) I find out there is a football match in 2 days in town. So I get a ticket and am all amped up to go to my first football match. The night arrives for the game and I show up and find out they have an odd why about the beers. You can’t have a beer in your seats you have to drink it out in the standing area behind/below the seats. It’s cool so they have two kinds of beer and they tell me that Carlsberg is the beer of the team so I grab two pints of that and its good beer I was rather impressed. Eventually I make my way to the seat and find out that I got a great seat like 9 rows from the field so that was really cool. The game was Chelsea at Fulham so not having a team of my own I cheer for the home team. Apparently these two teams are like huge rivals so it was a good experience with all the cheering and songs going on. Sadly Fulham lost 3-0 but it was cool I still had a good time and bought a Fulham scarf.

Now when one travels to a country where the local currency is stronger than your home currency one has two options: either use the exchange rate all the time and never buy anything because it’s too expensive. Or what I felt is the best answer you just use the local currency as if it were yours and see £50 as $50 instead of $76. Yeah it is expensive but it is the only way to have fun and enjoy yourself.

Now while in London I did ride the motorcycle a lot because it was fun, but that left side of the road thing is just ridiculous. So when I finally got to the Eurotunnel train to go back to France I was kinda relieved to be riding on the right side of the road again. But naturally after 8 days of being on the left of the road then going back to France and being on the right it was again headache inducing. It’s strange how even in such a short time you become adjusted to something like that.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0538s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb