England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Putney
September 15th 2013
Published: September 15th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Pollards Hill


All my bags are packed, I'm ready to go! - Unlike John Denver, I managed to restrict myself to 10kg's and half a rucksack. Impressive considering that includes the Digital SLR, gifts, mail to forward on and Penguin News quests. Note to self, must buy boxers and socks tomorrow as I left most of them in the airing cupboard!

After a few leaving drinks in the Victory Bar, cobwebs were brushed aside and the journey started at 6am on Friday. Leaving Stanley and the layer of ice (flat soles poor choice), departed Stanley with Dad and Leif. Check in was speedy which allowed plenty of time for the FIC West Store 'Mega breakfast' (just in case they don't do the full English in London!). Thank you Dad and Leif for the lift.

Despite the Friday the 13th departure date, the flight went relative smoothly. In fact with my reputation for the unexpected I would have to upgrade that to very smoothly, I think the presence of only 4 locals on the flight, word had got around! Whilst i stand to be corrected it is 8 years since I last ventured to the UK. The addition of the iPad to the flight for watching movies was welcomed, I enjoyed Mud and Side Effects - the movies, not dancing in the light sprinkle of drizzle in the compound on Ascension!

In my own relaxed fashion, once the rucksack was collected and customs cleared (thankfully the UK forgot all my uni antics) I then had to work out how to get to Putney. I am not implying at this stage that I did not have good instructions from Anna Luxton, I just forgot to write them down clearly. Anyway a short taxi ride into Oxford (love the private toll bridge that has been collecting coin since I believe the 16th century), I was able to mix it up with the English general public, well the train ticket seller anyway. In fact after buying my first cup of latte, of what I am sure will be many, I was collared by one of the locals who mentioned to me that his mate served in the 1982 conflict and after arrival at San Carlos was keen to find out what the Oxford City football league scores where!

Anyway, took the train to Reading, then the train to Staines and then from Staines to Putney. Impressively I only asked for directions 3 times. I have to compliment the customer service i received when required. I was also impressed with those that joined me, person with a dog, people with push bikes and even one West Brom fan that did not feel overwhelmed in the presence of the 'Berbatov loving' Fulham fans. Craven Cottage is apparently close to Putney.

Putney is a hive of activity and after several minutes of people watching (has to be the best pastime that comes for free) I climbed up the hill to find Sam and Anna. I arrived at the flats relatively easy and then realized I did not know which one they were In. Before I took on the 'bobby approach - going door to door', the good old FI initiative set in and I gave Anna a call via roaming! It was good to put the bags down after 31 hours of traveling (27 with time diference, but does not sound as good!).

It was a nice surprise to see Matthew Pointing, forgetting he was one of Sam's house mates. Steve P - you must of given him his greens as he is a big lad now! Very kindly he has moved out and given me his room (There is a house moving routine going on here at the moment). A good chat, a cup of tea, a delightful shower and a malaria pill later (not for London!), it was time to wander and investigate Putney. Incidentally I am now all communicated up - 07796 874577 if anyone fancies a yarn. Incidentally Vodaphone dont accept Scottish money apparently! Marvin Ford, in honor of yourself I managed a pint (peroni - good stuff) with Sam Cockers and then we undertook the supermarket challenge. It always intrigues me that one can travel so far to be completely gob smacked by none other than the local supermarket. Showing restraint and knowing I will be back we got supper and headed back up the road via Starbucks. Jasper, you will be glad to know that I with my increased knowledge of wine I went to this area hastily! Incidentally Chilean wines are so much more expensive here. I went Spain!

After a wonderful meal prepared by Anna and utilising Sam's new saucepans! Please ask him about their draining ability I had to call it a night and go count sheep (still obviously haven't switched off properly yet). After such heavy sleep it is now 4am and I am writing my blog.

Anyway back to sleep so I can enjoy tomorrow's adventure in the central area. Chao for now!



P.s look at maps - Did you know? As well as Henman Hill there is a Pollards Hill in London!

Advertisement



15th September 2013

Welcome to Travelblog!
I think you are our first Falkland Islander!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0778s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb