The infinite playlist (London Part I) - Europe 2012


Advertisement
Published: February 12th 2013
Edit Blog Post

*Track title: Introducing Palace Players

Artist: Mew






Well, hello London! First time here.. isn't really that bad afterall. Well, I refuse to sleep after 12 hours of flying from Singapore to London. I was booked on Etihad Airways when the check in counter staff in Singapore told me that my flight was overbooked! Instead, they transferred me to Singapore Airlines, which is great, my beloved national carrier.. and probably one of the best airlines in the world! Singapore Girl, you're definitely a great way to fly! (I'm gay but whatever). Plus point: A direct one way flight, without having the need to stopover.



I reached Heathrow Airport at 5.59AM on 8th May 2012, and it was bloody freezing! I still love my tropical climate back in Singapore... but not during the haze period (urgh!). Heathrow Airport certainly look very dull! After spending almost 2 hours trying to navigate my way around, found the tube station at the airport. One way ticket to Turnpike Lane tube station cost me 5.30 fu**ing POUNDS.... That's like 3 days worth of my transport trip (bus & metro) in Singapore! Urgh.. Reach Turnpike Lane Tube Station and head down to Falkland Road to crash over at my good friend's place. Stephane was still asleep when I reach. I was just cursing and swearing at the weather.. it's too cold for me (yeah 10 degrees? Worst summer ever!) Went to put down my packs, settle down a bit, and we chatted for awhile. Took a shower, and finally head out for some sightseeing. I refuse to sleep because I don't really want to have that 'jet lag' feeling. Instead, I went out for a walk along Piccadilly Circus and cafe hopping. I decided to get myself an Oyster Card to travel from Zone 1 - Zone 3 for seven days, which cost me 32.50 Pounds.. well.. not so bad... but still, expensive! I don't really understand how people enjoyed London! I went to get a prepaid phone SIM card too, to make communications much easier.



I went out to the city centre, mainly around Oxford Street to do a bit of shopping. Now, don't get me wrong; I hate to shop, because I find it is a waste of money to keep on spending things which you don't really need it. I was looking around for shoe boutiques to get myself a pair of nice walking shoes, as I don't have any. All I have with me was a pair of hiking/trekking shoes and a pair of slippers/flip-flops. I can't possibly be wearing my trekking shoes all the time right? I need to give some mercy to my skinny legs. After spending almost 2 hours around Oxford Street, I got myself a pair of espadrilles from Aldo, which apparently happened to be on sale (10 pounds), and couple of stuff from Primark, like shirts and pullovers. I wasn't really prepared for the cold weather, so I thought this would be a good investment!



I rest those weary legs nearby Piccadilly, and sipping onto hot coffee, and cigarettes. I love the idea of people watching; I love to observe, which is what I am good at. Hahaha. That holiday mood is still not getting into me yet, but I believe as time goes by, I will regret leaving Europe!



*I gave a theme to my Euro trip, which is basically music. Music is a universal language; almost everyone listen to them. No matter which genre, music is one way to accompany and provide bit of comfort to the lonely soul. As for me, since travelling alone, music (or my iPod touch) has become my very best friend, and without it, travelling would certainly be a dull affair. And of course, in the later post to come, you will notice why music plays an important role in my life (and no, I am not a musician; far from it!)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb