An Excellent Read


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Maida Vale
April 4th 2012
Published: April 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

One of the best sites on the web is Billie Doux. Set up originally when Billie (a pen name) was reviewing various television shows, it has morphed into a place where people also discuss movies and, my personal favourite, books. It is one of the few sites I tend to visit every day.



One of the two owners and a writer on the site is Josie Kafka. A fantastic writer, it was she who actually got me interested in the site as I read her reviews of Fringe, a current favourite of mine. About a week ago, Josie wrote a review of an episode of Alias called Phase One. In one short essay, Josie completely changed how I saw my favourite episode of one of my favourite shows.



I was so intrigued by this article that I downloaded the Visual Pleasure article. By no means an easy read, it is worth the effort not only for what Laura Mulvey has to say, but also because it is still so relevant 37 years later.



Even better is John Berger's Ways of Seeing that I read in one sitting this morning. I cannot recommend this book highly enough. If you are interested in art, art history or feminism, it is well worth your time.



Interestingly, three of the seven essays are only pictures. Make of it what you will.



Of the four written essays, the most fascinating is the second. In it, Berger discusses the male v. female perspective of art that Josie talks about in her essay. Additionally, however, he discusses the difference between 'being naked' and 'the nude.' It is one of those things that, once you read it, you smack your head and wonder why it never occured to you in the first place. Brilliant in its simplicity and clarity.



If you read this book, you're in for a treat. Enjoy.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.326s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb