Rockin London! Day 3!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
February 17th 2005
Published: February 17th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Once again I was up at the crack of dawn. 8:30 is early for a lazy student! Walked to the tube to catch a train to the Tower of London. It was very interesting and I still am in shock that I got to see the crown jewels. There was an extreme amount of glitter and glam in one room.
It was off to St Paul's church for the rest of the afternoon. I have been many churches in Europe, but I have never seen a ceiling sparkle like this one. The ceiling is done in a Byzantine style, irregular pieces of glass set at angles, and the ceiling sparkles from every direction. The crypt downstairs is the largest crypt in Europe and when you walk in it goes on for an eternity.
Amber and I hiked to the top of the dome. It was only 580 steps and once you got closer to the top you wanted to die! As you know my rear needs the work (lets hope it did something!). The view was spectacular (even with the wind trying to kill me) and it was the best way to see London.
After the wonderful St. Paul’s we headed to find tea and crumpets. That didn’t happen, but we found a little cafe where we had tea and pastries (London was my bad weekend!).
Then we went back to the hostel and ate our valentine’s dinner. We had spaghetti and wine. Headed to the train station and sat there for awhile. Caught our train back to Keele uni, but we were dreaming of London. I will be back to the grand city!



Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



17th February 2005

Wow!
Up at 8:30! No way! HA! Love the pictures! - Lisa

Tot: 0.12s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0578s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb