Am I in London? Day 2


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
February 13th 2005
Published: February 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Woke up and headed out to the tube (this saved us an amazing amount of time!). We headed out to Oxford Street and that is trouble for two girls! I couldn’t believe all the nice stores this street had and I wish I had some money to go crazy. I don't think I could have afforded a sock at any of the places, except H&M (love that store)! We spent too much time looking around and exploring the streets. We ran into Leicester square and it was like a miniature New York. I think London has more to offer than New York and is a very diverse city. I think I heard every language possible spoken. The other strange thing about London is the weather changes every 5 mins. One sec we walking in the warm sun and then the next minute we were covered in rain!
After the brilliance of that part of town it was off to the Tower of London and the Tower Bridge. I was amazed by the Tower Bridge and it was one of my fav sites. When you get off the tube you see this large bridge in the distance and it looks surreal. We missed out of the tower of London because it was closing in 10 mins. We headed for the tube and bought some chestnuts! They were amazing. I love those things!
We went on a hunt for the American Embassy, but couldn't find it. I put my application in here and I wanted to see where I would be working (it could happen!). Unfortunately we couldn’t find it.
Famished and tired we went to find wagamma. (Thank you Marilyn for having your sister recommending this place!) After a little searching we found the noodle bar. You walked in the building, down the stairs, and into this underground restaurant. I pigged out and ate nice noodles. Amber and I ate a chocolate cake that was made with wassabi (yes I ate chocolate... I am not going to do it again!).
After the brilliant food it was off to the hostel. Amber and I went to the bar upstairs for awhile. We just hung out and talked about life. It is nice having someone here who can relate with me on life and help me make the best of any situation. We were both knackered and headed off to bed! Ah sleep....



Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement



17th February 2005

HEY HEY!
Wow! Sounds like you're having a great time! I do miss you 'round here though! I told Marilyn you mention her in your blog, so now she'll have to go look. I look forward to your next installment! - Lisa
3rd March 2005

wow
Sounds amazing! I'm headed there in June, for 6 months, any advice on packing or what to see and what not to see? Thanks, julia

Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0461s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb