Australia Day in London!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
February 12th 2006
Published: February 12th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Happy Oz Day to All!Happy Oz Day to All!Happy Oz Day to All!

The screens inside the Walkabout pub.
Now what a fun experience this was. London is a fantastic place in which to enjoy celebrating everything Aussie!

After work on the Thursday, I jumped on the train into London for the night.
I collected a friend of a friend Sony who was passing through London before heading on for a Contiki tour of Europe. We met Alex (old colleague from Adelaide who now lives and works in London) and her friend Amanda out in Soho and headed for an amazing Sushi dinner. I’ve been craving Sushi for weeks so I loved that idea. Was a late start to the party part of the evening but we made up for it once we got started.

Heading out for drinks, we thought Australia Day was a better day than any to hit one of the Walkabout pubs - a chain of Australian themed drinking holes that you are usually warned to stay away from - crazy drunken Aussies fill the place.

Unfortunately the one close to us had a massive lineup, so we hit a funky bar around the corner for a while. Went back to Walkabout around 12 and the party really began! So many drunk Aussies
BRRRR it's cold out here!BRRRR it's cold out here!BRRRR it's cold out here!

Please sir let us inside, it's freezing in this line-up!
with Fosters hats, Oz flags, and green and gold worn proudly. It actually felt very strange to be surrounded by so many in one place after being one of the only ones around for the last couple of months. Strong Aussie accents everywhere! Lots of drinking and dancing, chatting to lots of random folk, and running from drunken losers! Australian songs played all night, and everyone in the club singing as loud as they could. The cricket on-dayer from Adelaide Oval was playing on the big screen - salute to the great ground with St Peter’s Cathedral in the background!

Several silly lads made efforts to move in to our group of dancing queens, just like they would at home. No way were they going to be successful at pulling a girl away from her mates on that dancefloor for any extended period of time! A very entertaining laugh though. The night finished with everyone in the place joining in for a rendition of “I Still Call Australia Home”. A fantastic way to end the celebrations.

Needless to say, we were all feeling completely rotten the next day. I think Alex definitely topped the suffering list! I felt
The WalkaboutThe WalkaboutThe Walkabout

An old church turned into a celebration of everything Aussie
for Sony who had to get up an hour after we went to bed to catch an early flight to Spain for the weekend. Ouch!
I had some fun of my own in my attempts to get back out to Guildford for an 11am meeting on Friday morning. I got caught with no money to pay for transport back. I had a complete blank on my UK account pin number given that I had only used it once (I wonder if the hangover had anything to do with that), and my Aussie Visa card was misbehaving too! What am I going to do? Calling the office to let those I was meeting that I was stuck, they suggested I was just going to have to jump on transport and risk the fines if I got caught without a ticket. In this case, the Tube was not an option - tickets are essential for this. So, on a bus we get and after getting abused by the driver for not explaining my situation upfront, he still let me ride - amazing! Got my very embarrassed self to the train station and jumped on a slow train back to Guildford. Took much
The crazy crowdThe crazy crowdThe crazy crowd

Drunken Australians everywhere you turn
longer to get back, but reduced the chances of having an inspector onboard. Got very lucky indeed as noone appeared to check my ticket (or lack of), and a bit of sweet talking to the guy on the gate as I arrived at my destination worked a charm! So, no fines or arrests for me today - yay!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Snake bitesSnake bites
Snake bites

Me and Alison with the drinks that did the damage... beer, cider and raspberry. They went down way too easily.
Oh the stains!Oh the stains!
Oh the stains!

The jacket I will not be wearing again after a spillage of raspberry or two...
The party girls!The party girls!
The party girls!

4 Aussie chicks + pints and pints of beer = trouble!
Check the tatts!Check the tatts!
Check the tatts!

Sad I know, but all in the spirit of the celebration.
The familiar Aussie currencyThe familiar Aussie currency
The familiar Aussie currency

An English guy that had just returned from a holiday in Oz generously gave his remaining shrapnel to some very excited ladies.
Go Villi's!Go Villi's!
Go Villi's!

Apparently they tasted revolting, but was great to see them there!
Salute the flag!Salute the flag!
Salute the flag!

Aussie and proud people!


11th February 2006

That looks like SO much fun! Great pics Trace.
12th February 2006

Looks like it is the town to be in when not in Aus. Trace one more sleep before we catch up with Cam.
12th February 2006

Party Girl
Good on you for staying an Aussie Trace. Keep those blogs a comin. Love ya. xxxxxxxxxxx
13th February 2006

Two of my favourite things - our St Peter's Cathedral AND "I Still Call Australia Home" - either would be enough to get me emotional and you had both in the one night. Too bad that white Aussie jacket had to travel so far, only to give up it's life so valiantly in the name of "Paaarty". Oceans of love
13th February 2006

Go the Aussies!!
A) Good to see you celebrating everything Aussie... except Forsters yuck! I thought you had better taste than that dear. B) Don't feel sorry for anyone who HAS to go to Spain for the weekend! C) Tsk tsk tsk for skipping out on the travel bills very naughty D) Nice pic of you in the Aussie flag! Happy Oz Day Take care xoxox
11th May 2006

Oh My God
I don't even remember some guy giving us his shrapnel. How bad is that! hahaha God it makes me feel sick just looking at it

Tot: 0.131s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0762s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb