A few poems


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
February 3rd 2009
Published: February 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey, whoever still gets this and has taken the time to click on the link in the email they received. I had never written a poem until a few months ago. I had always been put off by the extravagant symbols alluding to the unknown. But in my senior seminar I have to write 25 pages of creative work, and since we are reading essays about poetry in this first section of the class, I decided I'd give poetry a whirl. Here are my first three.

1) A Tree, A Bird, Wind.

A tree,
A bird,
Wind.
To love
A woman,
One must
Practice loving
these easier
objects
first.

2) Philosophy of Religion 34100

Does God say
"Slavery is wrong"
Because slavery is wrong?
Or is slavery wrong
because God says
"Slavery is wrong?"

Can God lift
A stone
That is
Too heavy
For him to lift?
Or make a four
Sided triangle?

Logically,
Can a human
Jump over the moon?
Or eat the earth?

Does God have
The power,
To take away
His own power?

But I ask:
"Can you look on the gray ducklings
bobbing behind their mother
and be content?"

3) I believe in the miraculous because I am not strong enough not to.

Meanings created,
Attached,
Appended.

Stories conjured,
Angels witnessed,
Purposes followed.

What if it's all just a ploy?
Just an amulet worn round neck,
Warding off nihilism?

A hail Mary,
A votive candle, A feast for the deceased,
A prayer for compassion,
For forgiveness,
For joy,
For love,
For peace on earth.
Let me have my hope,
Fantasy or not.
Because without it,
I cease
To be
Human.

Thanks for reading... peace and love.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.212s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb