Shops and Museum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
November 12th 2008
Published: November 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Liberty decked outLiberty decked outLiberty decked out

Christmas is the them of downtown London.
There is so much in London, it deserves a second blog.
The stores along Oxford Street are geared up for Christmas now. The front windows are works of art with animated characters dancing to canned jingles piped overhead. I wasn't the only person snapping photos of the displays. Too bad I didn't have a video camera so you could see the show. I was reminded of the movie 'Love Actually'. I could almost see Mr.Bean wrapping up jewelry across the Christmas counter.
One downer was the aggression of sales clerks thoughout the department stores. 'No, I don't want the flyer or coupons' seemed to fall on deaf ears when I walked past the people at the doors and escalators. 'No, I don't want my hair curled' 'No, I don't want my nails done while I wait' and 'No, I don't care if it is free or takes only five minutes' Surprisingly, there were as many men as women working in the make-up department.
In November, there are fewer crowds on Oxford Street. The Christmas lights are relatively simple, but the effect is beautiful against the sky.
We managed to squeezed in the British Museum, an incredible place to visit. If you
Santa Santa Santa

Beside the escalator Santa watches people. (me, too)
haven't been there in years, you will be happy to discover they covered the central square with a glass roof which multiplied the space. The mummy rooms have not changed, and the Rosetta stone still sits in the lower rooms beside the Egyptian coffins and Assyrian statues.


Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Window DisplayWindow Display
Window Display

Families were coming to see the window display.
Regent StreetRegent Street
Regent Street

It is so pretty walking along these streets, shame to go inside.
Toy StoreToy Store
Toy Store

Famous store for toys, there are clerks playing with bubbles, airplanes and drawing boards to entice shoppers to pick these toys. O.K., I bought the colouring boards.
OxfordOxford
Oxford

Very few people on Oxford Street in November
Beside the MuseumBeside the Museum
Beside the Museum

Sometimes signs capture moments well.
British MuseumBritish Museum
British Museum

I have to come here everytime I'm in London.
AtriumAtrium
Atrium

The roof must be as large as a football field.
CourtyardCourtyard
Courtyard

The light and space are lovely.
Museum TourMuseum Tour
Museum Tour

We rushed to see the mummy rooms.
SilverSilver
Silver

Not sure what this represents, didn't go over to read sign. ooops
Rosetta stoneRosetta stone
Rosetta stone

Sorry,not a good shot.
Large ArtefactsLarge Artefacts
Large Artefacts

This is the lower chamber.


Tot: 0.329s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 18; qc: 60; dbt: 0.103s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb