Snow and the Olympic Torch Debarcle


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » London City
April 9th 2008
Published: April 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have joined a photography group and at least once every month there is a shoot and/or workshop plus naturally the obligatory cheeky one for sociallising. I hope by mixing with people who know what they are doing I might pick up some tips and tricks and get more photos I love. This Sunday past the we had a composition workshop which coincided with two noteworthy events - snow in spring and the Olympic Torch Relay.

As is usual in London when planning to go anywhere the first step is the quick look out the window to see what delights the weather has in store (and contrary to what everyone tells you we do get blue skies and sun occasionally ... although that is considered quite unusual!). Spring started a week or so ago so of course that meant Sunday morning was all about big, fat snow flakes. Needless to say, I was slightly excited, if slightly apprehensive about whether transportation would grind to a halt (as the rumour had it!). I think I kept it really well to myself though ... bounding across the road to the bus stop with a HUGE grin on my face and the odd ... 'hey how great is the snow' ... to random (slightly scared looking) strangers.

Unfortunately the snow didn't last too long and by the time I reached St Paul's it was a layer on the roof and gardens ... but pretty while it lasted and I hope you enjoy some of the photos.

In the afternoon as we were in the area we wandered over to see the Olympic Torch relay! As someone who was there I can state that I saw a lot of police, a lot of protesters and no torch. From the news you'll know that it wasn't terribly welcome in London, nor it appears anywhere else. By the time it reached St Pauls they packed it on a bus, so my entire vision of the torch was ... a bus racing past at great speed ... a complete crock. I was hoping to get some great dramatic shots, but instead it was a cold 40mins or so of my life I'm never going to get back!

Love Jane xx




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

View from my WindowView from my Window
View from my Window

Helped me decide to dress warm
Rather late Christmas TreeRather late Christmas Tree
Rather late Christmas Tree

Helped me decide to dress warm
Protestors ...Protestors ...
Protestors ...

plenty of them!


30th April 2008

Snow at St Pauls
Very "arty" photo Jane of St Pauls, very impressed. H

Tot: 0.255s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 16; qc: 89; dbt: 0.1822s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb