Rather Sad


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Islington
June 20th 2012
Published: June 20th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Turns out what I thought was allergies was actually a nasty head cold! The past 24 hours have been awful as I've been trying not to sniffle, cough, and breathe too loudly. However, I have quite a bit to do at work to keep me busy (mostly working on the social networking pages) and have been able to enjoy the nice weather.

To cure my cold I bought something similar to Theraflu where you pour the powder in the mug and add hot water. I also bought some Ben and Jerry's ice cream (caramel chew chew--a flavor we don't have back home). I really hope I feel better soon as I have so many great plans the next couple of days!! Who would want to miss out on the Harry Potter tour because they're ill? Not me!

This cold also got me tearing up when I was skyping my mom this evening. When you're sick you really just want your mom! I miss her a lot and think about her every day while I'm gone--she would love this city and have a blast. Skyping with her has got me thinking about how great home is, but how awesome it is to travel. I miss home a lot, but so far I have no regrets about this trip (or trips, rather--Germany next weekend!). Every day I am exposed to new cultural differences like bus etiquette, lunch breaks, and work in the office. Traveling is something everyone should do if they get the chance as one not only learns about new cultures, but also how those new cultures compare with home.

Another interesting happening: the dryers in London DO NOT dry. My clothes are currently hanging out of the window...

Time for some Oasis and hot tea...

~Kayleigh

Advertisement



23rd June 2012

Feel Better!
Hey Kayls! I miss you. Feel better soon. Praying for you! Hope you get to do many more fun things on your trip. Let's skype soon! Mary

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb