Urban legends and Wicked Londoners


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Hammersmith
January 17th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

There was a massive, shopping mall (as Australians and Americans know them), built in Shepherd’s Bush a few years ago so we went to check it out today. Prior to this, really the main way of shopping for Londoners was on the high streets, each high street all over London, containing the same chain stores. In fact, sometimes it’s hard to tell which suburb you’re in at all because all the high streets look the same! I love this though because it is so English and I’m sure a lot of people who feel the same way, weren’t too happy when this massive complex sprouted some years ago.

But we went to have a look anyway. As it turns out, there are still all the same chain stores that you see on the high streets, just with fancier facades and interiors! It didn’t take us long to realise there was no need for us to be there so after having a very expensive morning tea we caught the tube back home.

I shouldn’t say I’ve been surprised by the kindness of strangers on the tube, but in a way I have. Having lived in London I know how it feels to travel on the tube at the end of a long day, when all you want to do is read the Evening Standard, listen to your music and hurry home and all you get are tourists zigzagging in front of you, trying to work out what way the Oyster Card goes. I’ve seen tourists go flying after having leaned a little too far left on the escalators! I have been guilty of rolling my eyes at more than a few tourists so as a tourist I am very conscience of trying not to look like a tourist! Sometimes this is easier said than done, with a baby on the front, a toddler pulling your hand and a stroller with a wonky wheel! But then someone scurrying past stops and offers a hand down the stairs or picks up a stray glove and it makes me think that actually, Londoners are just waiting for a chance to show their good side! I’ve seen a few businessmen have a chuckle when Mykenzie loudly announces that she’s done a fart and I’ve seen a few career women wave back to Edyn when she looks them in the eye and says hello! So I don't believe all the urban legends about big, bad, scary Londoners! They are just guilty by reputation and will do everything they can to prove otherwise!

Case in point, we needed the to enlist the services of a local babysitter to look after the girls while Jas and I went to see a show tonight. We hadn't met this lady before but she came highly recommended as an employee of the indoor playground that we had been to and to save the kids any stress we decided to drop in to meet her before she came around. We when heard she was the lady belting out the nursery rhymes we knew we had nothing to worry about and 2 hours later she was standing in the lounge room discussing clothes with Mykenzie. We made a hasty exit while the going was good.

We had heard a lot of good things about Wicked so that's what we decided to see. We had a pub meal first at a nameless pub in Victoria and then took our seats at the Apollo Theatre. Wicked is described as the untold story of the witches of Oz. I've never been to a musical where I didn't know at least one of the songs or characters or actors but I'd heard so many great things that we just had to take a punt. And I'm happy to report it was worth it. I wouldn't say it was the best show I've ever seen, but the singing was great and the storyline is very, very clever! I’m sort of embarrassed to say that it even makes me want to watch The Wizard of Oz again! Anyway, we made it home to a quiet house and a happy babysitter.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0549s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb