On your Mark, Get Set, GO!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Hammersmith
March 29th 2008
Published: March 30th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The stodgy and not so stodgyThe stodgy and not so stodgyThe stodgy and not so stodgy

Never did discover exactly what type of drink a Pimm is.
**I have a video that I will be attempting to edit and uploading tomorrow.**

How can one be within a 100 kilometers of London this time of year and NOT attend the Oxford and Cambridge Boat Race? So I checked the weather, partially sunny, 13C, slight breeze. Then I doubled checked the weather and looked out the window. Sunny, wind gusting and big brewing black/grey clouds. I noticed that today's weather forecast was updated by the time I got home and began to get the feeling back in my fingers and toes. This, after I heeded the visual assesment, by wearing layers and all the appropriate accessories!

It was a true festive event with people everywhere, beer flowing freely, makeshift food vendors, police every 10 meters, trash bags tied to barricades, a big screen blasting interviews discussing which team weighted the most (Oxford), and other such critical attributes. It was a jolly event. 😉

I chose to watch the race from the area around Hammersmith Bridge, which is just shy of the halfway point. On arriving I toured the concrete side of the Thames where most people watched the race as it had a good vantage point and
College clownsCollege clownsCollege clowns

There were quite a few who really knew how to just have fun.
all the beer one could wish for. As I could barely see over the river wall (yeah, laugh if you must) I crossed the bridge and watched from the country side (South) of the Thames. I stood in mud about an inch deep and dared not budge or I'd lose my place or fall into the river.

Hope these photos tell a decent story. Let me know if you hate or love the mixing of black and white photos with color in a blog.

Oxford "crossed the line to win the 154th Boat Race by six lengths in 20 mins 53 secs, the slowest time since 1947." www.theboatrace.org


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Case, bottles, can, glasses of beerCase, bottles, can, glasses of beer
Case, bottles, can, glasses of beer

Most came prepared for the day.
The concrete side of the ThamesThe concrete side of the Thames
The concrete side of the Thames

This was a couple hours before the race and was packed for the big event.
Bridge cameramanBridge cameraman
Bridge cameraman

Only the pros were allowed on the bridge when the boats passed under. A policeman told me it was to prevent 'stuff' from being lobbed at the rowers. Somehow I can't quite imagine these well mannered spectatros doing such a thing. Maybe I need to go to a proper football game to see the mannered create mayhew.
Park with big screenPark with big screen
Park with big screen

Fully zoomed I could almost watch the screen.
Go on! Go on!Go on! Go on!
Go on! Go on!

That's what was being screamed. Oxford is in black. Here at Hammersmith was where Cambridge started to pull ahead. I think it was just for me and my camera. Made it easier to have them in the same frame.
Pan back Jen pan backPan back Jen pan back
Pan back Jen pan back

Cambridge lost their narrow lead a few minutes later.
The posseThe posse
The posse

I think what makes the race are the chase crews. I think they said in 1978 Cambridge's boat took on water and "sunk." Can imagine the rowers being driven over if it were to happen now. It was an impressive show.
Did something just happen?Did something just happen?
Did something just happen?

There were a few ducks and swans out and about that didn't semm too bothered.
Umbrella romanceUmbrella romance
Umbrella romance

Just thought this was a good shot. The ducks do it for me.
And the winners are ...And the winners are ...
And the winners are ...

Most stayed and watched the race on the big screen. Several were on their phones getting updates from friends they couldn't hear. What? WHAT? WHAT?!!!!!!!! I knew the black shirts won, but didn't know who was in black.
Hammersmith BridgeHammersmith Bridge
Hammersmith Bridge

Backed up traffic.This is a really cool bridge.
It is spring, really!It is spring, really!
It is spring, really!

There's a great deal of construction in London. THought this was an interesting way to use the barrier. Not sure what is being built.
Outside Hammersmith tube stationOutside Hammersmith tube station
Outside Hammersmith tube station

Luckily there is a fairly large number of bus routes going through here and several pubs. Otherwise I think the tube would have been just a wee bit packed.
What a dayWhat a day
What a day

Whew! It was a good day. Wet and cold, but good.


31st March 2008

Pimms is good stuff
Not sure how wheaty it is, but it is tasty stuff. I've had a bottle at the back of the (several) shelf(ves) for about 10 years now, its so good :-)
31st March 2008

Doesn't look cold
Fun pics Jen... it really doesn't look as cold as you say it was though. Plus, where are the drunks?
31st March 2008

Cold drunks
Of course it doesn't look cold! I deleted THOSE pictures. I want you and the rest of the gang to visit me! As for the drunks, didn't you see the two guys in bare legs goofing around? Actually, for what ever reason: different alcohol content (?), self regulation, or that famous British stiff upper lip, I haven't seen as many drunks as I thought I would give the amount of drinking that goes on here.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb