Lost in Transition


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Greenwich
February 24th 2011
Published: June 7th 2011
Edit Blog Post

After 9 years living and working in Bermuda I left my job, or rather, more accurately, my job left me. According to Bermudian law, any Bermudian who wants an expat's job, is entitled to take that job. The term limit for expats to stay in Bermuda is usually six years, I had been granted an extension which allowed me to stay for 9 years. When a Bermudian applied for and took my job, I had no grounds for extending it further. I had no choice but to leave.

I therefore found myself without a job, without a home and without a country. Where should I go and what should I do? I have no idea, nothing really excited me and I had no burning desire to jump straight back into a new job. To be honest, I had been bored at work for a long time. I was an accountant in the reinsurance industry. Two very sexy industries I think you will agree.

With no immediate interest in finding a new job I decided to travel. Bermuda had been kind to me financially, I could therefore afford a decent budget to allow me to travel extensively. There are countless places in the world I have never visited and deciding where to go was not easy. I had grown up in Europe but had left for Bermuda around the time I could afford to go travelling so there are many European cities I'd love to visit however Europe will be accessible to me in the future so I decided to go elsewhere. I had visited the States many times during my time in Bermuda and I had also been to Australia a couple of times when I was young so I decided I would explore Asia and Central and South America. Although Africa would be amazing, I figured I would leave that for the future.

After Christmas and New Year skiing in Austria, I spent 6 weeks in London planning my trip, organizing visas, getting all the travel injections I could think of (9 in total) and buying various pieces of travel gear. I also had numerous loose ends to tie up from my relocation from Bermuda. Eventually, on the 24th of February, I flew out of London and a few hours later touched down in Dubai.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb