National British Muesum


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Fulham
July 12th 2006
Published: January 30th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I was lucky to have two London flights back to back so again arranged to meet up with my friend Janie. I made my way to St Pauls to meet her for lunch. We found ourselves a nice little restaurant where we sat outside and had a really nice lunch. She had to get back to work so I decided I would go to the National British Museum. The one thing I love about London is there is always something to do. It doesn’t matter how many times you go there, you can always find something. London boasts several museums and most of them are free to enter.

Made my way to the station and stopped in at a little coffee shop and sat outside in the sun. Entered the museum and unfortunately I had just missed a one and a half hour guided tour highlighting the main points of interest. So I booked an audio tour which was quite good as you could go at your own pace. The only problem was it was quite hard to find some of the displays. Went through the Egyptian section which was really interesting. There were so many statues and artefacts from Egypt including real Egyptian mummies. I couldn’t believe the size of some of these statues, they were really amazing and has inspired me to want to travel to Egypt even more. There were so many displays, I had to race through them as I had arranged to meet Janie after she finished work. Went through the European and Asian rooms but I must say they weren’t nearly as good as the Egyptian room.

Left there and made my way back to the station to Fulham Broadway. Janie is lucky she literally lives right next door to the station so was very accessible. Hung out at her place and prepared dinner. Janies boyfriend Dan came home and we sat out on the deck and had a really nice barbeque and a few beers. The weather was absolutely amazing. It was probably the nicest ive ever seen in London. There was not a cloud in the sky and it was really warm.

Janie saw me off at the station and I made my way back to Picadilly where I changed trains to the Heathrow Line. I made it as far as Acton station where I had to get off to catch another train. Except the train never came!!!! We were told it was delayed ten minutes. Ten minutes turned into forty five, then we were told to get on another train which took us to the next station where we were told to get off again. There was much confusion as we were getting told different things. At one stage they were talking about putting us on buses back to heathrow. In the end the train finally came and I got back to my hotel two hours later.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb