May 26th - June 1st 2009


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Fitzrovia
June 7th 2009
Published: June 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Taste of SpainTaste of SpainTaste of Spain

Cutting up some meat

Tuesday 26th May 2009



Up early to get ready for the first day and it is raining!! After being such a good weekend!! ARGH!! I don’t start until 9.30am this morning because apparently no one in my department starts early.

I pack my lunch to save some money and take the tube which takes about three quarters of an hour each way (this includes walking to and from the hostel and work). I get on at Goodge Street station and go south on the Northern, everyone gets on or off at Tottenham station then continue down to Waterloo. I switch lines to the Bakerloo line until I get to Elephant & Castle station. From there it’s a 5-10 minute walk to work. It really depends how early I am as to how long it takes.

My Ipod is in my ear the whole time and I’m bopping away to my music, always set to tunes to get me going in the morning. I sometimes almost start singing and dancing on the tube. I’m sure that would be a treat for everyone on the tube NOT!

I get to work and get given the full tour plus get introduced to about 100 people. I will not remember everyone’s names obviously. 4 levels, multiple departments and then me. Most of the morning is taken up with rearranging my desk so I don’t get the glare onto my computer. I have a big window with a really nice cool breeze coming through, so when it’s hot hopefully I’ll be kind of cool.

We end up going to a Departmental lunch to celebrate me starting. Yummy, yummy food. Got a tour of the neighbourhood and surrounding amenities. A nice fish and chip shop, bakery, green grocer and a Costco right around the corner. Oh and there is a pub right next door to my work as well. What a buggar!

The afternoon was spend just re-arranging things in the office and having a meeting to specify exactly what I am to do. Things will probably change to more I get into them but for now its great.

I finish work at about 5pm and then tunes are back on! Time to hit the tube again. So far the tube has been really great. Normally I can get a seat pretty quickly.

I wasn’t too tired
Taste of SpainTaste of SpainTaste of Spain

Festival entrance
after my first day but just I don’t know how to describe it really. So take a couple of deep breaths and cook dinner.

Early night again because I really want to do well at this job.

Wednesday 27th May 2009



Just another day at work today. I didn’t go out to lunch today but did go and sit in the park in the sunshine!!

FA Cup Final is on tonight so we’re going to the pub to watch the game. I have no idea who is playing. I think somebody said Barcelona and Manchester anyway. Obviously I’m not a huge fan. Went to the pub and it was packed!! At least we could move towards the bar. We asked for a table and they manager just looked at us and was sort of like ‘are you kidding’. The manager was able to get us a table outside so we could eat our nachos. It was lightly raining - typical London weather I guess.

We went to go back inside and meet the rest of the people from the hostel but we couldn’t move at all. Finally saw the people from the hostel but it took us a good 5 minutes to move through the crowd to stand with them. It was standing room only and we were all pressed together like sardines.

We were standing in front of the bar because there was nowhere else to stand so people kept trying to get past everyone. It was foul!! One girl came past and said to me ‘nice boobs’. I turned around and said to everyone ‘Did you hear what she said? She said that I had nice boos’. Everyone was like no maybe she said nice boots. I was wearing my new brown boots that are so cute! I was like no I don’t think so because it was really dark down near our feet so I don’t think that she could see them at all but it did cast a shadow of doubt. Anyway the girl came back with her friend and said in front of everyone ‘it’s the girl with the nice boobs again’. Thankfully everyone heard it this time so I was right. Ha ha!

The first half went really quickly and the crowds went outside to have cigarettes and fresh air. Quite a few of the
Taste of SpainTaste of SpainTaste of Spain

People and buses
people at the hostel smoke so they went outside and managed to find a pub that we could sit outside at just a little walk down the road. We all went down there which was so much better!! Sat outside for the last half and walked back to the hostel with a detour to Tesco on the way.

It was nice to get into bed and warm up!!

Thursday 28th May 2009



Work again. Not much to really tell at all, I guess it’s going to be that way for a while. I guess I could describe what I have for breakfast, lunch and dinner but even that is not very exciting.

I went to the Walkabout Pub tonight to book my Pamplona trip! So excited because I get a week’s holiday at work despite only working 12 weeks with the company! YAH FOR BEC. If you want to have a look at the trip.

http://www.topdecktours.co.uk/content.asp?document_id=2507

Friday 29th May 2009



My first week has come and gone already! It’s gone really fast and it’s really enjoyable so far. I can’t believe I only really work 12 weeks and the
Taste of SpainTaste of SpainTaste of Spain

Old building
first one is gone.

Get home from work and check my emails and things. I wanted to do a Contiki trip after I finish work in mid September and go to Oktoberfest but the trip I want to go on is booked out. I went on line to check to see if someone had cancelled and they did!! YAH FOR BEC!! Two trips booked in two days!! Can’t wait!! It’s called European Escapade. 25 days through France, Spain, Monaco, Italy, Vatican City, Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Netherlands, Belgium (in transit)

http://contiki.co.uk/tours/113-european-escapade

It’s all starting to come together now!! YAH!! Time for the weekend!!

Saturday 30th May 2009



Ahhh the weekend is here!! Went out for breakfast again today to the same place. Maybe this will become a tradition of mine!! We got to the pub and they were having ‘technical difficulties’! I’m not exactly sure how that works for a pub but anyway. Had to wait until 10am and it was only 9.20am!! So had a juice at the coffee place just up the road and went back to the hotel after that.

Didn’t exactly have juice for breakfast so ...had a pint of cider instead! Didn’t do the full English breakfast again. Mmm scrambled eggs!! Yummy!!

Walked back to the hotel and was going to go to the pub across the road but it doesn’t open until midday. So chilled in the lounge for a while and went back to the pub after it opened. 2-4-1 cocktails on Saturdays!!! WOO HOO!! So was going to have mojoitos but they had no mint leaves. Bummer!! Had to stick with Sex on the Beach and Pina Coladas. The afternoon went by fairly quickly and ended up back in the lounge room reading my book.

Continuing drinking seemed like a very good option and a few people decided to go out for the night, which I probably could have done. However, I ended up with the second Twilight book on the couch, bottle of wine, quilt and then watching Scream! Lol! It was a nice evening.

Still a fairly late one but didn’t do much so wasn’t very tired at all!

Sunday May 31st 2009



Ahhh...no hang over! WOO HOO!! I thought it would b another lazy day for me today, but actually the Taste of Spain
Taste of SpainTaste of SpainTaste of Spain

Me and a bunch of roses form the McDonald's sign
is on today! It’s going to be a warm day!! YAH A WARM DAY FOR LONDON and yummy, yummy food and drink for free! Amelia was up early meeting a friend for coffee and saw it advertised everywhere and it was only just down the road at Regent Street!

By 10.30am/11am we were down at Regent Street getting our Taste of Spain. Apparently it didn’t start until midday but we got to see everything that was happening before it actually began. There is going to be a lot of taste testing today I think and they are making several huge paellas that we can eat for free! Mmm!! We went up and down for a bit and decided to go for a lunch a little early because we really didn’t have breakfast. Went to a little place off Regent Street that was really beautiful and even managed to get a table outside in the sun! There weren’t that many people around at this time and the reason we chose this place was because we found it had a special 3 tapas and sangria for £10. Not a bad option at all. Amelia and I ordered 6 different dishes so
Taste of SpainTaste of SpainTaste of Spain

mmm...tapas
that we could try a little of everything:



It was all so good and beer as well!! Such a good lunch we couldn’t finish everything. So full that I was a fatty, fatty pumba again! By the time we went to leave, the place was packed. All tables full and lots of people standing at the bar!

The waitresses must have been very stressed because we waited for 20 minutes for the bill and then went to pay and it still took them ten minute!! ARGH!! Frustrating! Went back to the festival and there were so many more people, it was really hard to move.

Met up with a few other people from the hostel who had just arrived and went into a clothing store. Downstairs had quite a few bargains because of the festival and ...they had a bar at the end of the store where you could get free sangria, champagne or soda water! So obviously it was sangria please!! It was really nice!!

A lot of the people
Taste of SpainTaste of SpainTaste of Spain

Amelia and our mountain of food
from the hostel were going to another market but they had to take a bus and it was too nice of a day to ride the bus. Got free chocolate mousse and chocolate bits and ended up going to a pub for a drink. It was really nice! Sun, cool breeze and beer! Am I making anyone jealous yet?
Went and did a little looking around on Oxford Street and came back to the hostel. We had been going a lot of the day and it was time for a rest. Amelia and I had bought some chorizo so we had chorizo salad for dinner. We were going to make pizza but we didn’t have any pizza sauce and all the shops were closed! Frustrating! The salad was nice at any rate.

Didn’t do much for the rest of the evening. Amelia moves out tomorrow! So I’m apparently getting another roommate, I hope she’s nice.

Monday 1st June 2009



I can’t believe that I’ve been here a month already. It definitely doesn’t feel like it at all!

Back to work today, the start of my first full week.

Get home from work and
Taste of SpainTaste of SpainTaste of Spain

Giant paella for free
Amelia is packing up her stuff to move to her new place. I find out that my new roommate is only staying for a week but its Ash-Lei!! Ash-Lei had previously moved to Manchester and is just back for the week to catch up with everyone before she starts work at a hostel on Tuesday. My good luck continues!!

Amelia and I made our pizzas and they were so yummy!!

I have a few things left in the room from Amelia but I think I’ll be seeing her rather soon.




Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Taste of SpainTaste of Spain
Taste of Spain

Giant paella for free
Taste of SpainTaste of Spain
Taste of Spain

Giant paella for free
Taste of SpainTaste of Spain
Taste of Spain

Giant paella for free
Taste of SpainTaste of Spain
Taste of Spain

Random singing folk
Taste of SpainTaste of Spain
Taste of Spain

Random singing folk
Taste of SpainTaste of Spain
Taste of Spain

Random singing folk
Taste of SpainTaste of Spain
Taste of Spain

Amelia and the best sunglasses ever!


Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0252s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb