16 days.. and counting


Advertisement
Published: March 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today is March 1st. (Only 16 days to go.. and counting). As well as being very, very excited, I am also a little concerned that my departure day is charging towards me like Usain Bolt.. and it will be on me before I have completed all that needs to be done. Hmmm. If I were going away for a few months I could just leave stuff and deal with the chaos on my return. My 'voiced' intention is to go for a minimum of 5 years.. however in truth I'm going to explore every possibility of finding another country to live in and never return.. So I'm in the process of giving away everything I own that won't fit into my rucksack. Furniture, telly, all my cloths, CD's, books.. the lot. It's a very interesting experience..(and a little scary).

I am still plowing my way through the online TEFL course but finding it very challenging. Although I was born here in the UK and I have an old fashioned 'O' Level in English Lang/Lit.. I'm surprised at how the knowledge of English Grammar has somehow completely disapeared from my head. It is as though it poured out of my ear like a waterfall.

Two important things that I have been thinking about recently are footwear and a water purifier.
In the past when backpacking/hiking off the beaten track, in rainforests and wet places, I have always gone for a serious pair of goretex lined hiking boots, however if water gets in over the top or they gradually become damp due to the humidity.. they never dry out and I have often had to put on soggy boots in the morning..(a very miserable experience)
This time I have decided to take a pair of Teva 'water shoes'. They are a combination of trail shoe and the type of things you'd like to be wearing on a kayak. The advantage with these is that they are designed to not hold water, to dry quickly and be good on the trail. (The theory sounds good). I'll also take a pair of rugged hiking sandals.
As for the water purifier.. well for a start it will definitely be a purifier and not a filter. Good quality filters can catch most bacteria but they don't deal with viruses. Whereas good quality purifiers make any water (but salt water) completely safe. Apparently the best hand held system on the market is called a First Need XL. It looks a little bulky 'cause its a pump action..but it zaps everything.
Here in the UK I drink about a litre of water a day.. so in the Amazon and other such environments where that will definitely increase, it doesn't make sense to be buying bottled water. And anyway, I have an issue with bottled water in poor countries... What happens to all that plastic?

Whoa.. it's past my bed time.. I can feel myself turning into a pumkin. Good night blog.

Happi days



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



10th March 2010

Wishing you all the very best!
Yinka, I have just read your entry and I can really feel your excitement, apprehension and stress. I think you are very brave and only a few can do what you are about to embark on. I wish you all the luck in the world and as a true friend, I will pray for your protection, good health and happiness. I have only known you for about a year, but it feels like I have known you forever. You are a quintessential Being and a good man! Goodluck and I hope we meet again somewhere, someday.

Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0427s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb