A new beginning


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Ealing
October 20th 2008
Published: October 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well, we try again. The UK, mark II. We have now moved into a lovely flat 5 minutes from the center of Ealing Broadway, which has the right mix of nice bars and eclecticism. Mon has a new job. I've quit mine. We got engaged. I'm returning to NZ for 3 weeks or so. It's all on! We are still marvelling at the awesomeness of our new place - it's cosy, homely and has a giant attic for Lego storage (as well as other lesser items like boxes and clothes etc).
There is a strange sense of vulnerability that accompanies a move into a big city. One feels completely dwarfed by the faceless mass... This may change as we become more familiar with our neighbourhood. Odd sensation. On the one hand we are stoked to be so close to London, but we are also scared by this great beast. Various issues with money being skimmed from our cards (both of us) has made feel insecure in a way that we didn't in South America.
But Huzzah! We are in London, there is much to live for! The move was incredibly smooth, we were set up within hours and we've bought a super-comfy bed which with any luck will be delivered tomorrow. With British workers, why would you have any doubts? Hmm.
I am enjoying handing over my work to the new girl, who will do an excellent job. Maybe I should be a teacher...
Anyway by popular demand, here is Mon's version of the proposal:
Since I have been asked for details by various people, I thought I would give you just that.
SO.
Chris and I had a day together when we decided to get out of civilisation and head for some lovely english countryside.
We drove to the Chilterns (Lovely area, very Jane Austen...) and we had a yummy lunch at "The Frog" in a small village called Skirmett.
From there we decided to go for a walk, and thought we would follow the track from Skirmett to Fingest. We wandered through some lovely woodlands and then came out to a beautiful view of the English countryside. It was a perfect weather day (amazingly!) and we sat looking out at British hills. I decided it was time to move on, and so stood up and walked to the edge of the path to soak in the view before we left, when I turned around, Chris was on one knee....
I believe the proposal went something like the following -
"I've been thinking about this for a while. Will you marry me?" to which I replied
"Are you serious?" followed quickly by...
"Of course I will".
Afterwards, we walked around in a happy daze, almost blurting 'We're engaged!' to some unsuspecting ramblers on the hill. For a while there, we were the only people who knew our little secret, a bubble of icky love...

Then off home to celebrate with the whanau. Champagne all round.
We are very happy!







Advertisement



Tot: 0.249s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 18; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb