Literary walk in Chelsea


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Chelsea
June 12th 2022
Published: June 12th 2022
Edit Blog Post

Burnsaild StreetBurnsaild StreetBurnsaild Street

Dutch style houses
I decided to do a circular walking course around Chelsea on 8 June. Sloane Square and King’s Road were decorated with Union Jack flags. I remembered there are we used to go to the concert at Cadogan Hall.

King’s Road had a number of designers’ shops – Hobbs, Ralph Lauren, Calvin Klein, Russell & Bromley, Whistles - and a lot of pretty looking tea rooms. I had a quick look at John Sandoe bookshop and found some modernist classic books.

I was directed to turn right on Burnsail Street. Just a few minutes away from bustling King’s Road, it allowed me to see quiet, stylish Dutch houses. Many houses had beautiful roses, climbing roses and picturesque facades with pretty lamps, bay balconies and sash windows with balconies.

As I walked on Britten Street, I found a very striking church, St Luke’s Church. I heard from the guide book that this is where Charles Dickens married Catherine Hogarth in 1836.

After taking photos of the church, I walked past Royal Brompton Hospital and went back to King’s Road. I saw the blue plaque of Sir Osbert Sitwell, author and essayist, in which he lived. I continued walking westwards
St Luke's ChurchSt Luke's ChurchSt Luke's Church

This is where Charles Dickens and Caroline Hogarth married in 1836. Caroline was under 20 at that time.
until Old Church Street and looked at the brick house where A.A. Milne lived and wrote Winnie-the-Pooh. On the Mallord Street I also found the house which was built for the painter Augustus John.

Afterwards, I returned to King’s Road and continued walking Old Church Street towards Chelsea Embankment. I found Chelsea Old Church and the back and gold coated statue of Sir Thomas More.

I followed the course on Lawrence Street, Upper Cheyne Row, Cheyne Road and Cheyne Walk and found the blue plaques for Tobias Smollett, the face carvings of Thomas Carlyle to show his former residence and the blue plaque of last house of George Eliot.

All the houses looked very well-maintained and showed respect where well-known authors lived and worked. I found the former house of George Gissing, Mark Twain and Oscar Wilde and Bram Stoker in the quiet residential areas.

While following the south of the Chelsea area on returning to Sloane Square, I found a number of elegant looking semi-detached residential houses. They were 3rd or 4th floor flat buildings and balconies displayed well-trimmed conifers. I also saw the gate of Royal Hospital and their grounds where Chelsea Flower Show is held. I enjoyed strolling through quiet and stylish residential areas where a number of well-known authors and artists lived and produced great works.


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

The pub restaurant, Cheyne WalkThe pub restaurant, Cheyne Walk
The pub restaurant, Cheyne Walk

Roses were very beautiful. Restaurant had very nice meals, but very expensive!!


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 15; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0376s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1mb