Londontown


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Greater London » Camden Town
January 30th 2012
Published: January 30th 2012
Edit Blog Post

This past weekend I visited my best friend Kiran in London! It's remarkable to see a good friend in a foreign place -- the first hug made me feel home 😊 And her suitmate Masha let me have some of her dinner just because I was eying it hungrily. What a sweetheart!



The first night I had to sneak into Kiran's room because she, being Kiran, did not turn in the guest request form. All of her new friends helped me creep past the security guard by locating themselves strategically and distracting him!



Unfortunately, at the moment of truth, as I sprinted through the treacherous hallway toward the dorm room of salvation, I tripped and fell over and dropped my suitcase. Perhaps even more embarrassingly, I abandoned it and left it for her friend Jill to rescue. That night we went out to a pub but Kiran and I got tired and went back early and are not embarrassed.



Saturday we went to Camden!!! (After stopping when halfway there to watch the football match (Yay Liverpoole!) and have a pint) 😉That place is a labyrinth of the unique and commercial, old and new all intertwining in a battle for your attention. There are more tattoo parlors than you can count, vendors from everywhere you can think of (and some places you’ve never heard of!), and food of all sorts as long as it's fried, sweet, or seductive. Fur coats from vintage shops are next to kisosks that display pashminas from Kashmir across from a stall that has the artists’ originals looking at you hopefully.



Best purchases of the day consisted of :



2 x “20 pound dresses” for $15

1 x coat made of real rabbits

2 x posh hats

1 x nose ring for 1 pound

a lighter argued down from 8 to 6 then back up to 7 for fuel 😉

3 x screen printed tank tops depicting Nicki Minaj, Lil Wayne, and Kanye respectively



We spent 6 hours looking around and then got tired. We went back to Kiran’s and ate a lot of cookies. Then we went out clubbin’! It’s great to go out with friends and dance like no one is watching even though everyone is watching. Interesting psychological implications will ponder later.



Kiran also told me that my Mom e-mailed both her and her father a link to my travel blog. This means that she told literally EVERYONE AND THEIR PARENTS about it. (This explains the oddly high number of views as well, it was ultimately not due to my gripping narrative!). This is embarrassing for me – I wanted the account to be firstly for myself and secondly for any concerned parties with too much time on their hands (read mainly my mom lol). Nevertheless, I welcome anyone who wants to read. I just apologize for the shameless plug from my embarassing but loving and very sweet mom SHOUTOUT TO FRAN WHATUPPPP

Advertisement



30th January 2012

Shout Outs
Shout out to my loving daughter who is far away from home......I miss you!!!! Love Always, MMMMMM

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0497s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb