Museums and Bookcrossing


Advertisement
Published: May 20th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Anne writing
Tuesday 19 May and we decided to be very brave and tackle the underground alone, this included a change at Embankment so we could get to the Science Museum.
To me it seemed more like a transport museum although we did participate in the online GM debate and James designed small blue tomatoes with lots of flavour, and ones the size of pumpkins that were tasteless.

The Natural History Museum was calling out to us so back we went and "did" the red zone earthquakes and volcanoes.
After a very expensive and uninspiring lunch ( my resolve to save money by packing lunches seems to have been lost) I persuaded James that the British Museum was worth a look and on the way home.

We got off at Tottenham Court, we do love all the mosaics at the station and were disapppointed we had forgotten our camera, why the mosaics we wondered. The British Musum reveals all.
Ancient Egypt to see the mummies and James's next choice was Ancient Greece and the Romans. So many mummies, so many mosaics. We were enthralled and will head back there, we think it needs a week to see everything.
We did discuss how sad it must be for the Greeks and Egyptians to have to travel to the UK to see their treasures, but at least they have been preserved and undamaged by war. However it does reek of arrogance and power to me.

Anne then managed to lose her way in the Tottenham Court station and tired and addled got very grumpy. James rose to the occassion and guided us backwards to Leicester Square where we were able to get on the right line back home.
S came home from work and James and S went to the park across the road and played football with some local kids while I went to Waterloo in search of a Bookcrossing Meetup at the intriguingly named Camel and Artichoke pub.
Aren't maps deceiving? And Waterloo station is bloody big, I know I have done a full circuit in the rush hour. Nevertheless I was the thrid person to arrive out of an eventual 14 English and German Bookcrossers. The pub was delightful and in an area of old Lambeth town which they are trying to retain. There are three massive shelves of books screaming to be collected and collect I did.
About 8pm I hit the wall and felt as though I was going to fall off my perch. So home and to bed.
At last normal sleep patterns are restored. James and I are waking at a respectable 6.30 am most mornings.
We have received instructions from the French re the Saturday meetup in Paris and T has taken to work to get a translation from her French colleagues, otherwise we will resort to Babelfish that I have heard about.
Today's adventures are unknown, we will decide over breakfast and a quick consult of Londond Free stuff site.


Advertisement



20th May 2009

Yippee I've found your comments
So pleased to have caught up. What a wonderful and very full time you are both having. James is proving to be a great travelling companion. Way to go James. Keep up with your writing bits too please. Just love reading all about your experiences. It is Paris this weekend? I've mislaid your itinerary. Keep healthy and happy.
21st May 2009

Natural History Museum OBCZ
Did you find the Bookcrossing OBCZ at the Natural History Museum?
21st May 2009

So enjoying reading your notes.
I've just read them all through again and shared some with MrFan. We were both very impressed with James' lock adventures. Keep it up. Will be a lovely record for you to print out and amalgamate in a paper journal with photos when you are back. For James as well. Take care, and enjoy Paris.
21st May 2009

obcz @ Natural History
I looked and looked after Kiwi in England told me about it, but couldn't locate, went up several flights of stairs, past staff only signs and seemd to hit three very imposing closed doors, and was too scared to fling them open. I either had the directions wrong or else ... Wistful Dragon was not sure the other night if it is still operating and I was too jet lagged to remember exactly where I looked etc.
21st May 2009

Lost in wanderland
So glad I'm not the only one to have had difficulty finding the Camel and Artichoke. I think I hit Battersea before turning around and going through a maze of dreadful little streets. But worth it when I got there, to enjoy the company of other BookCrossers. Good pub grub too, even if the signature dish was off that night.

Tot: 0.171s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb