Trouble at Customs


Advertisement
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Monday morning, hosts T & S have gone off to work and there is time before James and I wander up the road to experience the delights of the Camden Markets minus the weekend crowds. So I shall now tell you of the sinking feeling one gets when the UK Customs official enquires as to your relationship to the child accompanying you.
Young NZ Maori and white middle aged woman raises eyebrows and then comes a term that turns my bowels to water - Child Trafficking.

I am his grandmother I protest, he and his mother live with me.

So of course the mother has written a letter?

Never crossed our minds, and never at any stage suggested by our National Airline, or local customs.

Young James boldy speaks up, she is my grandma, I live with her and my mother, and my mother knows I am here.

Allowed through with stern warning, you will be asked in Paris and when you come back in , you had better get a letter.

Email arrived this morning from Kirsty. Printing off multiple copies.

Reflection - Isn't New Zealand a wonderful country that the possibilty of being accused of child trafficking never crossed our minds

Advertisement



18th May 2009

So proud of James
I am so proud of you for speaking up Jimmy. You are such a brave boy! It sounds like you and grandma are having a fantastic time and seeing some wonderful sights..nearly the whole monopoly board :-)

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb