Last Night in the Cotswolds


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire
September 14th 2014
Published: September 14th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I post early tonight, as I plan on retiring early with the hopes I get up before 9 tomorrow morning. I have a long drive ahead of me to Wales tomorrow and I don't want to be driving after dark. Been there, done that and it was no fun and down right dangerous for a newby driver on the backward roads of England.

I have truly enjoyed my time in the Cotswolds. The weather is very much to my liking...overcast but warm. The milder weather and bountious rains allow for the abundant flower gardens (it looks like vegtables suffer a bit from lack of sunshine) that are truly gorgeous; and I leave here with numerous ideas of my own gardens at home. Speaking of home, I will not forget that one in my list of blessings tonight.

With all that being said, with the exception of the people I have stayed here with at Finial House, I am not going to miss the English people I fear. "Stiff" would be a good word for them. Serious yet cordial, they leave a bit to be desired in my humble opinion. Although they are nice enough when spoken to, the general populous seem to not feel effusive in the least about life in any respect that I can see. I can see why pubs are so important here. Without alchohol and a place to gather, they would never speak to each other. I apologize if I have offended anyone.

So tonight dear readers I sign off with mixed feelings. I will be sad to leave the beauty here, but glad to move on in hopes that Wales offers something a bit different.

Tonight I give blessings to my home. For it is a home...filled with love and attention. I take pride in how I have learned and maintained the house since Rick's death and even improved it in some respects. (Although some may argue that point.) And I bless my mom whose unconditional love saw me through tumultuous waters of life and who i now picture sleeping soundly, dwarfed in her enormous recliner. I hope she doesn't miss me too much. And to Lois, her caretaker in my stead, who without this trip would have remained but a dream.

To all, goodnight.

Lori

Advertisement



14th September 2014

The Welsh
My kids are from a Welsh background, and I'm from an Irish background, and I think I can assure you that the people will be MUCH more jovial!! Have fun, I'm so enjoying the posts!!

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb