Time to go at last!


Advertisement
Published: June 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well, after what seems like absolutely ages in the planning and probably a fair bit of procrastinating and faffing, I am finally ready for the off. The original plan was to get going by early June, now, the 24th is the eventual date, still, better late than never and hopefully this means that I'll have everything I need, ha, fat chance.

After being made redundant earlier this year, and always liking the idea of cycle touring I thought I'd take the opportunity to give it a go. With no job to rush back to I've decided to head off over into Europe rather than stick to the UK for my first taste of the touring life. It would probabaly be easier to stick to the UK but if I enjoy this trip then the UK can be done in smaller pieces, during my holidays, when I'm back being gainfully employed (hopefully).

I've got a fair few bikes but for this trip I decided that I needed a new one, something in Steel and that has not spent the last 5 years being thrown up and down rocky trails. After lots of research, Ebay disappointment and a bit more research I ended up with an On One Slot Dropout Inbred (for those of you that care or know about these things). The reasons to choose this bike were that it's steel so could be welded back together if needed, it has mounts for racks and once I'm done touring I can make it into a singlespeed MTB for the UK's winter mud. I ended up building it up, and all but the forks, rear mech and shifter, and the pedals are new. Need to get it covered in mud so that it doesn't look so new. I've done a couple of fully loaded test rides and it felt good, once I'd managed to get over just how bloody heavy the thing is with clothes, and all the camping gear I'm going to need, or at least that I think I'm going to need! My first attempt at indicating whilst riding uphill nearly ended with my first tumble. Still, a bit of playing with the balance of weight seems to have helped. I'm sure I'll learn a lot more about it over the next few weeks/months.

Not only have I had to decided on which bike to take and the bits to put on it, I'm also very new to the lightweight camping thing so I've spent far too long trawling forums for infor on stoves, tents, waterpurification, the practicalities of cycle touring etc. Lastly but not least I had to have a look at little about the countries I'm planning to visit and potential routes. The plan at the mo is to head over to France on the Ferry, Portsmouth to Le Harve, explore Normandy a little, head to the west coast a little and then head inland across the Massif Central to the western part of the Alps. From there I'm even less sure but will make it up as I go along towards Itlay, Croatia and then who knows.

I've travelled before but the first step is always on a plane. You book your ticket, pay your money and then have to head off on a set date. This leaving from home on the bike feels a bit different and i have to admit to feeling a little nervous about the off. At the same time though, I'm well overdue to leave so I'm looking forward to it.

Right, better go and look at a map and see how I'm going to get to Portsmouth.





Advertisement



Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 10; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0568s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb