In the air ...


Advertisement
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.8667, -2.24867

Last morning here and I am up at06:00 for breakfast at New Siam. Walk to 7/11 to buy a coffee and to get a snack for at the airport then back to room to pack last few things.
Check-out and go for a taxi on Thanon Phra Arthit. Roads are quite busy locally but once we hit the toll roads things quieten down and we make good time to Suvarnabhumi airport arriving only 35mins later at 07:45.
Check-in for BA0010, 11:50 flight Bangkok to London Heathrow is already open so I lose my suitcase immediately then head outside for my last breath of polluted Bangkok air. Have about 3 1/2 hours before boarding but as the transfer to the departure lounge can often take a long time I head off. Today security is quiet and the immigration hall is completely empty - where are the millions of Chinese who are usually here making my life hell and frankly who cares !!
Make my way to Gate E9 and sit to wait again. Eat a snack, read a book then call Jai to report that I am about to depart. She has been out collecting water money but is only intending to visit each house once. If they are not home or wont/cant pay then the money gets handed in light this month and it will be someone else's responsibility next time round.
Flight boards on time but we are a passenger short. This means a delay whilst we unload their bags before finally departing.
Not a bad flight as these things go and even the food was OK this time and a full compliment of toilets throughout the whole flight was a great improvement over March flight.
Arrive at London Heathrow at 18:00 and by the time I have cleared immigration my bag is just appearing on the carousel. Hurry towards the coach station but get pulled at customs. Fortunately, although I wasn't actually carrying anything improper, it was just a brief chat then I hurry to the coach station.
Have to wait about 15mins before first bus arrives heading to Central Bus Station. Get there ahead of schedule but there are no earlier coaches than the 20:20 upon which I am booked so an hour or so to wait again. National Express 444 is about 15mins late arriving but we are soon heading west along the M4.
Dropped off at Longlevens just before 23:00 for the short walk home.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0321s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb