Seem to have been sat down forever !


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Gloucestershire » Gloucester
January 15th 2015
Published: July 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 51.8667, -2.24867

Awake or at least arise from another near sleepless night just before 05:00. Guest house doesn't start serving breakfast until 06:00 so I go out to the nearest 7/11 for a coffee to help clear my head.
I go down for breakfast at 06:00 but by 06:05 there is still no life in the kitchen. I ask about breakfast and am told about another 20mins as the kitchen staff have only just turned up for work. I need to be in a taxi by 07:00 so don't wait around but head out into the dark and eat fried eggs and toast at a street stall on my own.
Back to room to finish off packing then check-out just before 07:00 and walk up to the main road for a taxi. Run to the airport is quite quick despite a 15mins wait for a train to pass en-route. Still having level crossings across main roads in the city centre should be a thing of the past but not here. There are enormous traffic jams in the opposite direction but they wont bother me ... not today anyway ! Arrive at airport before 08:00 and have to wait awhile before the check-in desks open.
Having got rid of my suitcase I decide to have a walk out to the gardens to say goodbye to the morning sun but this is not easy as it at first seemed. I can't find the way and soon give up on this idea. The queues that I find at passport control suggest that it was probably just as well I didn't waste time looking for the gardens. It is nice when I have cleared everything and am in the departure lounge. The Chinese in particular, and there are lots of them here, have no concept of personal space and little of queuing at all.
When I reach the gate it is 09:15 and a further 2 hours to pass before departure. Nothing to do but sit and wait, the story of travelling. When we got back here in September there were nearly 53 Baht to 1GBP. In Bangkok last night this was down to 49Bht and here at the airport only 47Bht. Looks like my dreams of returning to 60+Bht will have to remain just dreams ! Jai phones to check on my progress and say goodbye. With 45mins to go I walk down to gate E9 which has just opened. Board on time and BA010 leaves on the dot of 11:15.
Flight isn't too bad and we make our descent into London Heathrow T5 on time. I am one of the first to clear passport control and get to the baggage carousel but by no means the first to see the welcome sight of their baggage appearing. I make my way to the bus station where a bus is sat in the bay where my bus is due to arrive in about 20mins time. I ask the driver if he is going anywhere near Central Bus Station and he is happy to take me. As we pull into the Central Bus Station I am just envisaging a 2 hour wait here when I spot a No 444 bus already in. Either this is the bus that runs 2 hours ahead of the one I am booked on else it is heading in the opposite direction towards London. I grab my bag quickly and get to the driver before he disappears and he is actually going to Gloucester. Not too keen on taking me as I don't have the right ticket but eventually relents and I board. Driving back through the dark, wind and sleet ... At least getting the earlier bus saved me an awful 2 hour wait and gets me back home a whole lot earlier than expected.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 32; dbt: 0.0282s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb