End of week 1


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Stansted Mountfitchet
September 15th 2017
Published: September 16th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Today, I have included some photos of the rooms inside the College - the dining room where we have all of our meals, The Sanctuary where we have lectures and services and other rooms where our classes are held.

There are also a few photos of Shelley, Kathryn and me on our last night - having a drink at the bar.

Our previous course finished after breakfast so as Shelley was leaving to go travelling with John, I have switched to a single room for the week.

I had to take my luggage down to Reception and leave it there whilst the rooms were cleaned so I went for a walk into the village (Stansted Mountfitchet). My first stop was The Bean House, where I had a cup of tea and re-read my course notes and reflected on what I have learned over the previous week. From there, I walked up the street to the Dog and Duck pub, where I had a Strawberry & Lime cider (which was really delicious) and then lunch.

On the way back to College, I stopped and bought a pot of flowers and some supplies for the upcoming week.



The new course starts this afternoon with the usual orientation meeting at 5pm in the Sanctuary.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement



16th September 2017

Viewing photos
The place looks great. It will be hard to leave? Looks like living in the past. Enjoy.
17th September 2017

Hi Mike, yes the house is beautiful. A cross between Downton Abbey and Hogwarts in Harry Potter. Difficult to maintain though as it has heritage building restrictions so you are limited in the changes or repairs that you can make. ?
18th September 2017

College looks wonderful. Dog and Duck pub so very British! Keep on having the best time, Julie Ann. xx
18th September 2017

Pub: Dog & Duck
Checked out the website for the pub. Food menu looked quite good - not like the old days in most pubs where all you could get was a Ploughman's Lunch or a "smiling" cheese sandwich. However, the best bit was looking at the photos of the beer taps. This ageing Essex Boy was delighted to see Greene King Abbot Ale and also the IPA; brings back memories of a very misspent youth! No fancy Swedish ciders in those days.

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 13; qc: 63; dbt: 0.067s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb