Weekend camping...at V Festival!!


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Essex » Chelmsford
August 20th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So this is how it all started…aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaages ago, even before the tickets went on sale, the girls started talking about us going, but I wasn’t sure if I was gonna be in the country, so I didn’t get tickets. Neither did they since they sold out in minutes, but they got from someone on Gum Tree.

Anyways…a few months went by and I even kinda forgot about it apart from when the radio insisted on reminding me. Then a few weeks ago, I was in a very Jet mood (LOVE them!) and Kallie told me they were playing V. “Damn!”, I thought, thinking about their brilliant concert I had gone to last year at Brixton Academy.

So last week I met up with a friend from back home that’s doing a summer course in London and, coincidentally, living in Chelsea, next door to Fulham, where I live! We were just hanging out at a pub on a regular Monday night having chips + drinks and catching up talking about home and the past few years away from it (at least for me!), when she tells me she was going to try and get tickets for Pink the day after, concert I also had forgotten about! “I’m going with you”, I told her, and so I did. We got seating tickets from that tout bastard that told us it was standing (it was written Circle Unreserved, so we believed him), but we’re brazilians, so of course we managed to “jump” to the standing stalls 😊

Bla bla bla, concert was amazing!!!!!!! Pink is the best, no words for her…and I also got to sorta quickly catch up with a friend I hadn’t seen since January cause he works with her, so was on tour overseas and meeting him after all this time was one of the best parts of the show.

On Wednesday I couldn’t stop thinking about the concert! Well, alright, alright…I couldn’t stop thinking about how nice he looked in that black shirt, but anywho! I started getting really wired (me? Wired? Anxious? Nooooooooo :p) and on Thursday I woke up thinking “I wanna go to V”, so I told the girls I was gonna look for tickets and Skye even gave me a hand checking out the ads. Made some calls, sent a few sms and, few minutes later, got
The ThrillsThe ThrillsThe Thrills

Yep, very thrilling indeed
a ticket! :D All that was left to do was meet up with the guy to get it, pack and get Monday morning off.

Girls got the tent and headed to V on Friday avro and I met them there Saturday morning. As usual, I thought it was gonna be more adventurous and fun (or whatever was crossing my weird mind at the time) if I walked from the train station to Hylands Park instead of taking the bus, but alright…an hour later I got there, dropped off shit then headed to the arena…heeeeeeeeeeaps of people, but we got in, checked out a bit of Just Jack at the main stage (or the “sound check act” in Skye’s words) while Kallie said that Dave Grohl was supposed to appear in one of the side stages that day, then headed to the Channel 4 stage to see who the hell was 606, the first act to play there. It soooo happened to be: FOO FIGHTERS acoustic! Kallie said before that their guitar pick says “606”, but she wasn’t so sure it was gonna be them…doesn’t matter cause we were there anyway and it was brilliant!

After we
The FrayThe FrayThe Fray

Lead singer is rather strange, ay
recovered from the big surprise, it was time for Juliette and the Licks (man, this is gonna be a gigantic entry!) and you know what?! I wasn’t sure about it cause I’m not really a big fan of hers, but it was pretty nice! Their albums are on my “new music purchase” list. We saw The Fray, which was really nice as predictable, though the lead singer was acting a bit weird…well, he’s american, I’ll cut him some slack! :p (jk, my yankee friends!) And afterwards…oh yeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhh (think of this as in Nic Cester singing), Jet!! Man, no words…another top class performance! What’s Nic with his “woooooooooooow”s, “yeeeeeeeeah”s and “giiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiirl”s? He was looking like a mini-aussie-Lennon and the whole band was just great! Too bad it was only a 35min concert :/ They should’ve defo been on the main stage and for an hour, but oh well, at least I had the enormous pleasure of seeing them again.

So, amazing Jet over, run to the main stage for the queen…Pink! Seeing her twice in a week…bless! :p She didn’t sing Cuz I Can and Stupid Girls like in Brixton, but it was still perfect. [Pause for Pink. When
JetJetJet

*TOP CLASS*
she sang Dear Mr President at Brixton she asked us if we knew that "real smart guy" that runs her country, then when she sang it at V she said she'd only have to sing that til the end of the year and then the world would be a better place hehe- for those who don't know, that "real smart guy" is leaving in the end of the year...and it was about time- And during Don't Let Me Get Me- that goes "tired of being compared to damn Britney Spears, she's so pretty, that just ain't me"-, the lyrics were 'slighty' changed to "she's fucking crazy, that just ain't me" followed by a cool but cheeky smile).

Alright, Pink over =( but then we moved more towards the front for Snow Patrol getting ready for the last act of the evening, Foo, but you know what? There were way too many tall people at this festival!! I felt like a little kid in the middle of giants (sometimes it’s sad to be short, ay?!), but alright, Snow Patrol was really sweet, though he wasn’t singing as he normally does. Usually he sings with such a passion that you
Us @ PinkUs @ PinkUs @ Pink

Stace, you are so inconvenient! I can't believe you asked us to turn our backs on her majesty for a photo!!
can feel how happy he is to be up there. And then…Foo. I have to admit I’m not a big fan, though there’re quite a few songs I really like, but Dave Grohl…man, he’s hilarious! But then it was time to go to sleep…3 girls in a two-men tent that could barely really fit two, but we managed to make it work. Even though we woke up early Sunday with our bodies aching…but who said we cared about it?! One more day of great music was ahead of us, with some rain this time, another tiny detail that also didn’t spoil our fun.

Started on the main stage this time…with Goo Goo Dolls!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And yes, they did sing all the classics I was waiting for :D Johnny looks EXACTLY the same as he did 10 years ago and, according to Kallie, was even wearing the same clothes as 10 years ago hehe :p and also according to her, Jade Goody’s boyfriend was standing right in front of us with his friends (and according to me, he’s a total idiot! Think Biff from Back to the Future!).

Who else?! Can’t remember Sunday as much as Saturday (best
crowdcrowdcrowd

As you can see, it was just an intimate set of gigs with a few music fans here and there...
day!). Oh yeah, James Morrison! I’d been willing to see him since last year, it was pretty nice. He makes these weird faces when he sings…sexy voice though, I quite like him. Then one of the smaller side stages for (shhhhhhh) McFly. It was so crowded though!! And with all kinds of people singing along! We thought it was gonna be just a bunch of teenage girls and us, but boy, were we wrong! I’m even looking into going to their gig in London with Skye hehe (“and I would answer all your wishes if you asked me toooooo but if you’d deny me one of your kisses, don’t know what I’d dooooooooo“). Theeeeeeeeeen…Channel 4 to wait for Guillemots (the guitar player is brazilian!) and we ended up catching The Thrills which was really really good! Guillemots was nice, quite bizarre is fair to say, but you could see the passion…the brazilian, I got no words, he was just rocking out completely! and the lead singer…you could see how happy he was playing his music, changing from playing guitar to keyboard in the middle of the song and singing Sao Paulo.

Just a little detail: when the Guillemots started we had 2 or 3 people in front of us…when they left, we were leaning on the fence, where we stayed for Mika (well, just cause we were there already). Another one I’m not a big fan of, but his concert was really upbeat and fun, he’s got heaps of energy! Then it was Lily Allen…funny girl. She’s not a “stupid girl, flipping her blonde hair back”.

Anyways…after her it was gonna be the Manic Street Preachers, LOVE THEM! but I thought it was best to go home so the girls could sleep better (and me on my bed!) and I didn’t have to worry bout being late for work on Monday. They’re playing here in December anyway…and Kasabian was at the main stage (Noel Gallagher is a fan! He’s also a fan of McFly…shhhhh again) and then The Killers were gonna be the last one. I wanted to see them but just for the sake of it cause I’m soooooooo off them…they’re annoying and last album… “Don’t you wanna cooooooome with me, don’t you wanna feel my bones”. Ew, Brandon, no, I don’t wanna feel your bones! What happened to Mr Brightside’s casual kiss and the
Goo Goo Dolls...Goo Goo Dolls...Goo Goo Dolls...

and the rain! Ps: Johnny looks EXACTLY the same as he did 10 years ago. Not even ONE wrinkle! And according to Kallie, also same clothes :p
boyfriend that looked like the girlfriend????? There’s nothing glamorous or indie about your new rock ‘n roll…I got soul, but I’m not a soldier, so I did not stay for the 2nd main-stage-headlining-act-biggest-festival mosh, got home and had a beautiful, comfy sleep on my bed quite happy with my musical camping weekend.


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

James MorrisonJames Morrison
James Morrison

TOTALLY looking at us! :p
McFlyMcFly
McFly

Shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh, don't tell anyone!
GuillemotsGuillemots
Guillemots

and their brazilian guitar (+ 82136297392716328176 other random instruments) player
MikaMika
Mika

Yeah, he's quite awesome
Lily AllenLily Allen
Lily Allen

singing for "us lot"
Us + hamsterUs + hamster
Us + hamster

Watching...hmmm....good question, but it was round The Fray and my beloved Jet!


Tot: 0.098s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.2mb