Day 3: Eastbourne and Brighton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex
July 8th 2017
Published: July 8th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I had an exceedingly lazy day today which my legs appreciated after yesterday's hike. Still sunny today - still haven't had a drop of rain - Eastbourne lives up to its reputation as being the sunniest spot in the UK!

I spent the morning lazing around the esplanade and waterfront. There were a bunch of people swimming (proper swimming) across the bay, so that was fun to watch for a bit. I wandered around an old fortress they have (really just a round stone/brick wall with cannons) and found myself sitting on a bench, eating chips and watching a bunch of 60+ year olds play lawn bowling. How very British.

Walking back towards the city there was some parade for first responders..? I'm not quite sure what was going on but there was probably every single vehicle in the city in that parade along the waterfront - ambulances, police cars, firetrucks, old style firetrucks, coast guard, search n' rescue - everything. It was cute seeing all the kids along the road waving to them and them waving back. Aw.

To wrap up the waterfront, I grabbed a cevapi wrap on the pier - cevapi is a Balkans thing, pretty much all I ate back in Bosnia lol, so I figured give it a shot. It ended up being the size of my head - a gigantic portion of the cevapi and all the veggies wrapped in naan with mint and yogurt sauce. Totally worth the 5 pounds.

In the afternoon I took a bus to Brighton - long ride, but always fascinating to see the little towns on the way. I love seeing front gardens and how cute all the little houses are. I didn't spend all that much time in Brighton - I walked around the main area and then headed to the Pier. Now that is a pier..! You name it they pretty much have it on there. I wandered through the shops and stalls, all the food options (I wanted to try some octopus but figured maybe not the best with my current throat issue lol), the arcade and all the rides. The fact they have 2 coasters on the pier is pretty great too. Such a fun vibe.

Tomorrow I head to Hungary - go figure there is some sort of upcoming partial train strike and some overtime strife (mrah mrahhhh) so I have to figure out how their rail replacement works so I can get to Gatwick in the morning. Never dull.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



9th July 2017
This is what their beaches are

Just like Dover
Hi Julie, I'm enjoying this summer's adventure. I have similar picture of the beach in Dover when we were there last spring. The stones make for interesting walking as they are not as stable as hard packed sand. Very pretty though.
9th July 2017
This is what their beaches are

Hi Joan, Yeah, most of the southern coast is like that with the rocks - pretty, but like you said, not ideal for walking. Hope you guys had a nice visit when you went! The UK holds a soft spot in my heart in terms of vacationing.

Tot: 0.704s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 54; dbt: 0.4244s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb