On My Way


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Uckfield
June 2nd 2006
Published: June 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

I'm on my way! Well, I've moved from Hampshire to Sussex, at least! I've now let my house and moved back with my parents for the time being All my belongings seem to have taken over their house and garage - how is it possible to accumulate so much clutter?!

I've had a very busy few weeks since the last update - I left work last month at the start of my sabbatical and I've now booked my ticket for June 12th. I'm taking the ferry from Newcastle to Kristiansand on the southern tip of Norway. The plan is to stay there for a couple of nights and then to make my way up the coast, visiting Stavanger, Bergen and the fjords. I'm also looking forward to visiting the Lofoten Islands on the coastal steamer for a couple of nights, which is really dramatic mountain and fjord scenery. Then it's on to the northern tip of mainland Norway - the touristy Nordkapp and finally on to the frontier town of Kirkenes - to take the bus to Russia. We shall see what pans out along the way - I'm thinking of taking a trip to Svalbard (Spitzbergen) which is about 800 miles away from the North Pole. You travel with a guide who carries a gun in case of any over-curious polar bears - sounds like fun! It's the most northerly part of Europe and well into the Arctic Circle. It depends how time and money work out but hopefully I'll make it there. The Russian visa only lasts for 1 month so I can't leave Norway too late. It means that I can't enter Russia before June 28th and I must have left by July 28th - otherwise I get thrown into a gulag in deepest Siberia.

I picked up my Chinese visa today - and got my Mongolian and Russian ones a couple of weeks ago - so I'm all set now. Just 2 more jabs to have (meningitis and rabies) and I can stop feeling like a pin cushion and get on with travelling! My GP has given me more medicines than you can poke a stick at - from everything to treatment for giardia, altitude sickness and pulmonary oedema, as well run of the mill antibiotics!

Anyway, I think that's all for now. The next update will probably be once I'm on the road - when I should have some pics to upload! Keep in touch - be good to hear from you all. Have a Red Fort curry for me... .

My Route Map

Advertisement



2nd June 2006

:-)
Glad to see you have finally updated your blog. hehe....wish we were there to see you off....But have a great time and remeber to keep us all updated. I have a link to your blog so if you start getting the random American updates that would be my family and friends....HAVE A GREAT TIME!!!!!!!!!
12th June 2006

Hello
Hope the first leg of the trip goes well and it is not too rough enroute to Norway. Thinking of you today as I sit at my desk waiting for 5pm to come - must admit, am a little jealous. Take care. Anna
12th June 2006

catch up and good luck
Just picked up your message, sounds amazing and exciting. I am liasing with Trail finders re St Petersburg. If you go into Russia on 28, when will you be in St Petersburg? They can arrange flight, hotel and visa for me just need three weeks notice and work to be flexible! Enjoy the fiords!

Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 35; qc: 125; dbt: 0.1363s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.5mb