Quiet on the Downs


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Lewes
August 28th 2012
Published: August 28th 2012
Edit Blog Post

biblical sayingbiblical sayingbiblical saying

yea though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death - not an exact quote but I did not walk up that path
Walking Day 7 Pyecombe to Lewes



Poor Wendy at Hobbs Cottage. We said our good-byes, left and were back in 2 minutes because I had no memory card in my camera so I had to go through my suitcase and get it. Said our fond farewells again and then we were back in 5 minutes. I’d left my watch behind. Wendy hunted all over but it was not in the room. Found it tonight – in with the computer hook-up. Our walk was very quiet today. Hardly anyone else was on the downs at all – only a couple of dog walkers and later in the day some crazy joggers running the heights. I do baby steps uphill and they run! Wind was at a minimum and sun out most everywhere we looked. About noon a huge dark gray cloud came out of nowhere and was directly above us – sun still everywhere else. It only did a few drops to scare me and get my camera packed away. The most amazing thing about today was seeing a fallow field full of red poppies. Gorgeous. Pics don’t do it justice. I should actually take the extra effort and bend down for some shots but I like to keep the legs moving so they don’t think we’re done for the day and seize up on me. At our pub break at the end of the day I could hardly get up from the chair so the pub owner made a big joke of trying to help me to the door. A zimmer would have helped. Today was to be a 9 mile day but it was really 10 and no we didn’t even take a wrong step off the path. It pays to watch for signs on every single new or old signpost. 25,071 steps


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

dew ponddew pond
dew pond

Ross kept reading about these and we finally spotted one - 2 feet to our right
poppy fieldpoppy field
poppy field

Wendy had told us about fields such as these at breakfast
walk's endwalk's end
walk's end

last 2 pubs didn't have Crabbie's - thankfully the Newmarket Inn did!


Tot: 0.279s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb