First two weeks at the castle


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Hailsham
September 17th 2008
Published: September 17th 2008
Edit Blog Post

This content requires Flash
To view this content, JavaScript must be enabled, and you need the latest version of the Adobe Flash Player.
Download the free Flash Player now!
 Video Playlist:

1: Globe Theatre 32 secs
I arrived in England on September 3 and the flight was good, but one of my bags was lost which was not fun at all. On the flight over I met Emily, who actually goes to Etown with me and Jane who goes to Queen's University in Canada. We arrived at the castle and it wasn't quite what I expected at first but it was an amazing sight. That week was full of orientation, listening to speakers, and filling out papers. I also took a tour of the castle and gardens and had a beer, which I decided i don't like in the castle pub. Thursday I did receive my suitcase which made me very happy! On Friday they had a rugby practice and two hand touch game in which I participated and had a lot of fun doing so. I tackled things, ran passing drills, and actually had the ball a few times in the little game. I was extremely sore the next day but it was worth it. On Saturday there were organizations from town that came to the castle and I bobbed for apples at the music table which was harder than I thought it would be. That night there was karaoke in the ballroom of the castle in which a few friends of mine sang to a Britney Spears song and danced! On Sunday the entire school, all 180 of us, went to Pevensy Castle, the Berling Gap, and Brighton for a little shopping, where I went to the Pound Store (our dollar store)! And that night we had wine and cheese with the professors. Classes are going well and my upper year courses are small which is nice and my two courses that have first year students are still only about 25 students. Wednesday September 10th was my birthday and it was a lot better than I thought it would be. At dinner, two of my friends from Mexico, Francisco and Laura, made me an ice cream dessert and sang happy birthday and everyone in the dining hall joined in! And after my last class ended at 9pm I went to the pub with my friends and there was a brownie cake with unlit candles, no fire in the castle, and balloons and everyone sang happy birthday. My friends bought me drinks...I had my first tequila, a cosmopolitan, a yummy blue banana flavored drink, cranberry and
CastleCastleCastle

Me, Justine, Nicole, Monica, and Larua in the front
vodka and a shot of Jack Daniels( which was gross). My roommate, who is from Korea, gave me a post card from Italy and a key chain form Korea. Two other girls from Korea gave me a fan bookmark from Korea. Aska, from Japan, made me an origami cube thing with 2 pieces of candy from Japan. And my friend Laura from Mexico gave me a hand made doll and piece of candy from Mexico. That Friday, Sept 12th, there was another school trip to London to see "The Merry Wives of Windsor" in the Globe theatre which was amazing! Saturday there was a festival type thing at the castle called Music on the Moat and there was a band that played and we did a lot of dancing. On Sunday, Sept 14th, I had a trip for my Culture, Identity, and Self class to the Imperial War Museum in London and had to look at the Holocaust Exhibit and had a quick glance at the other war exhibits. I had some free time after and walked through London with Francisco and Monica and went to the Cheers Pub, my first one, and had a really good pear cider. Now I am up to date and back to classes. Friday I will be going to the British Museum for my art history class and will definitely update more often.


Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Bobbing for applesBobbing for apples
Bobbing for apples

Nicole and I both got one
GardensGardens
Gardens

Rose Garden
KaraokeKaraoke
Karaoke

Georgia, Jane, and Emily
Pevensy CastlePevensy Castle
Pevensy Castle

Me in a tower
Pevensy CastlePevensy Castle
Pevensy Castle

Jane, Me, Asuka, Laura, Tomuyo
pevensy Castlepevensy Castle
pevensy Castle

Me in a tower way up high...no roof!


17th September 2008

AMAZING!!
Hey, YOUR AMAZING! YOU ALREADY KNOW THAT LOL. ANYWAYS SO GLAD TO SEE YOU ARE HAVING SO MUCH FUN! HAHA IN THE "POUND STORE" DID THEY HAVE THAT CANDY-BAR LOL? YOU KNOW WHEN YOU GET THAT CANDY-BAR AND EAT IT YOURSELF YOUR GOING TO HAVE TO WRITE A WHOLE BLOG ON JUST THAT CANDY-BAR ON HOW AMAZING IT IS!!.. GLAD TO SEE YOUR HAVING ALOT OF FUN!! BE GOOD AND DONT FORGET DONT DO ANYTHING I WOULDNT DO LOL!! LOVE YOU!

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0557s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb