Homeward Bound


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Hailsham
April 14th 2018
Published: April 14th 2018
Edit Blog Post

I woke up sad this morning. I love coming over here and it's time for the LONGGGGG flight back to Australia today. I've had a great time over here (always do) but I'd really like another week to finish of the trip. However, school calls for Monday! I've seen some amazing things, some really, really old and some no so. Met some amazing people, joined a group of enthusiastic forest schoolers who are all about developing wholistic children and young people through the outdoors. Our presenter was amazing with so much knowledge and experience in developing confident children. I learnt how to tie knots, build tarp shelters, light fires with a flint, use the fire for cooking, different herbs and trees in the woodland. I saw a vole and naughty grey squirrels, giant bumble bees and beautiful singing robins. All in all a really great learning week. I now have to transfer that knowledge into my local setting in Australia. I have come away with a whole new outlook on education and I don't think I will look at my children in the same light.

I will be glad to get back to some warmth although I hear it has been really hot... not happy Jan. I woke up to a thick fog this morning and that has begun to melt away into a beautiful sunny day (just in time for me to leave). I think Spring has finally arrived to the UK. At this moment, I'm sitting in the breakfast room of the lovely hotel that I have stayed in for the week having my last hot veggie breakfast.

I need to get to the airport reasonably early as I need to check out a few things before I board my flight. It's about an hour and a half drive and I have to negotiate the M25 UGH! I will also need to get fuel before I drop the car off. AVIS has overcharged me and I can't change my seats on the plane, no matter how many times I've tried so I need to get a triple seat booked for at least the last flight to Melbourne. I also tried to change my meal but to no avail. Not to sure about Royal Brunei...

Until next time UK! I miss you even before I've left 😊

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0433s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb