Last Training Day


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Hailsham
April 13th 2018
Published: April 13th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Last day of training today. It was a bit sad as I have enjoyed this week very much. We have learnt a lot and made good friendships. We learnt some lashing today and by creating a zig-zag we could then twist it and turn it into a star.

There is a woodland just down the road from the scout camp and I could see a beautiful carpet of woodland anemones as I was driving past each day. I tried to find access yesterday down a side road but there was no thoroughfare. Today I just drove up onto the side of the A22 and climbed over the wire fence to get some beautiful pictures. Apart from it being close to the road it was a lovely carpet of white in the forest. I then drove the 14 klms to Eastbourne to see if there were any fossils in the chalk cliffs. I drove right along the beachfront. Eastbourne is a typical beach town with a long pier and lovely walkways along the coast. There were lots of people out enjoying the lovely day, walking their dogs and just climbing over the hills. I found the pathway down to the water. It was quite steep and lots of stairs. The going down is not the problem. I just thought the whole time... I have to walk back UP here. There was not much sand, mostly pebbles and huge chunks of chalk that fall from the cliffs. It is quite dangerous to get close to the cliffs but I snuck up there for a couple of minutes and found some small shell fossils in the chalk. I had a nice wander along the rocks for about half and hour and then started the arduous trip up the hill. I took my time and actually found it not too bad.

I didn't have a gps or a phone to get back to the hotel and I was a bit worried as there were quite a few round-a-bouts that I had gone through. I followed the signs for London and found my way home easily. I had a lovely dinner in the hotel and am thinking about the packing I need to do before I leave here in the morning to begin the long flight home.

I've had an amazing two weeks and will look forward to the next journey!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

Lashing StarLashing Star
Lashing Star

By lashing five sticks together we were able to make a star
Beachy HeadBeachy Head
Beachy Head

This beach was near Eastbourne about 14 klms from the Scout Camp


Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0777s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb