Southward bound


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
June 24th 2010
Published: June 24th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Another day, another ending... I finish my contract at 3, a mobile company, at 5 pm tomorrow. I've had a great time there, and it was a necessary springboard for our plans to move south.
Mon has found a job in Worthing, which is west of Brighton. She has a contract with a water company - this is good, because people need water (and sewerage systems!) so it's a keeper. We're in the process of deciding whether to live in Worthing, which is clearly the retirement capital of West Sussex, or Brighton, which is young, funky and alternative. What will it be...
It sounds like a no-brainer, but what with Mon having to commute every day, we figure it's kind to find a flat that doesn't involve her sitting in traffic while I sip lattes on the seafront. Assuming I'm out of bed at whatever ungodly hour she has to leave for (shudder) work.
I find myself in a quandary - I can go and work in Brighton for a piddling amount of time (and, no doubt, money) or I can have the summer off and swan around Europe. Mon seems to have views on the subject, which I find unjustified...
Both of us have become somewhat entranced by the World Cup - I have happily fallen into a routine of work, shower, dinner, football, bed, which is conducive to much happiness. Full credit to the boys for getting through the group stage unbeaten - shame they couldn't nick one off Paraguay. Justice is done as the fiendish Italians exit. They only looked like wanted to play in the last ten minutes... Portugal are looking scary, Brazil are looking awesome as usual and Argentina might pull a few surprises. My dark horse is... well, there are quite a few of the middling teams that might go further than thought - Uruguay, Japan and Chile spring to mind.
A word about the British weather: I have cycled the 7 miles to work and back every day for the last 10 weeks, and I have been rained on once. Clearly there is some alternate universe where it rains all the time, inhabited by miserable English folk. As I am fond of repeating whenever someone is foolish enough to ask my opinion, it doesn't really bucket down here like it can in NZ...
I had a moment today of 'holy crap, this is really happening!' - the reality of impending studentiness is dawning on me, with its accompanying oodles of reading and interesting people and challenging ideas etc etc. I'm very excited! It's the first time for a while that I've felt 'this is the right thing to do, right now'. It's great, I can tell you.
Arrivederci for now
Chris and Mon


Advertisement



24th June 2010

Good luck
Use Wimbledon to keep you occupied in between world cup games till the Tour de France starts. Watch that too or go down there and ride a stage. Or Mallorca; Rob and Natalie may be busy though. Early July is running of bulls in Pamplona btw.
25th June 2010

Don't forget
Don't forget about us Americans in the World Cup ;) We may surprise! And congrats to NZ for some amazing surprises in the World Cup. Sounds like you both are well and enjoying life in England. Let me know when you make it "across the pond." Cheers! Shaun
1st July 2010

Why the British obsess about the weather
Having lived in the UK for thirty years I can safely say that I prefer the NZ buckets to the enduring pall of grey. However, in alternate decades when England has a summer, then it truly is a pleasure. And I am deeply gratified that you are cycling. I miss you both. And it was all white on the night! P

Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb