Bath-London-Brighton


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » East Sussex » Brighton
June 4th 2009
Published: June 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up earlyish around 730. Everyone was still fast asleep but I think I woke everyone up getting all my shit together. Took me like 10 mins to get it all figured with my stuff in the safe and things everywhere. I hate that in hostels you get up when everyone else does kinda thing. I was trying to be as quiet as possible but shit happens. They had a free breakfast in the kitchen which I was just in time for. Had a quick bite of cereal and even made myself a pb and jam sangy for later. Got to the bus in regular fashion and slept most of the way back to London. Wayyyyyy better ride back. At the end of the trip I did my gluing scapbook stuff and got organized. Something i keep putting off. Like I have so many responsiblities hahaha. Got myself a coffee at starbucks and woke up abit and it was great cause they had a washroom as well.
Walked up the road to Buckingham Palace. The change of guard had just begun and I think it lasts an hour. Didnt stay for the whole thing but got an idea what it was all about. I was super excited I had two hours to do anything I wanted to. So my plan was to get something major done and see Westminster Abbey. Went there with my bag and had to keep it on me the whole time. No bag checks here. WOW it was amazing. They let me off with the student price. Still at 12 pounds it wasnt a deal. Amazing place though. Everything is jammed in there. Graves under your feet statues everywhere which way you look. They were pretty strict on the no photo thing but i managed to get a few good shots. Saw everything it was wicked. Got around by poets corner and went down to the museum. Very interesting all the robes and sceptors and jewels. Amazing that this place hasn't had some attack on it. If I was German this would have been the first place to go!!! HA see if anyone gives me shit for that one. Anyways I was starting to get rushed because I only had 35 mins left and it took at least 25 to walk to the bus station. So I wanted to find Diana's memorial. Turns out shes not even burried there. She might make it when Charles becomes King im told but definetly not before. So crazy eh. Brits and there rules.
I saw Captain Cooks memorial and a bunch of other monarchs. Kept stealing shots, ha never even got caught. Finally I was at the exit and I wanted a pic of the whole hallway and I purposely took out the camera right in front of the lady at the desk who already gave me shit for going to close to the door with the headset guide thing. You should have seen her face when I took the pic with the flash and all, it was classic. I thought i captured her pissed off look bĂșt it was a millisecond before. SHIT oh well i laughed my ass off to the bus. Ended up having to run my ass to the station got there just in time and managed to get a pastry and a Dr Peper for the ride to Brighton. Only 2 and a half hours this time cause we stopped at Gatwick. This completes the airport tour as well. Didnt plan on seeing all the freaking airports but thats the way it worked out. Really nice countryside on the way there. Got to Brighton and it was beautiful out. Stopped right at the Pier on the beach. Wonderful sight. I was thinking about the Fat Boy Slim show he put on cd the whole time just picturing it bumping. Wish I could have been here for that but this was good. Took my time finding the hostel because I was in no rush at all. My hostel was like a good 40 min walk away from the center of town where most people lived. I found this info from an internet cafe I went to downtown. Kinda cool in Brighton they dont have cafes, they have convience stores which have computers in them. This one was upstairs so I sat on that for awhile and was very happy to see Pittsburgh had just won their first game of the series so they were still alive. THANK GOD. The even better news was that Ashley, who was the mom of a lady my mom worked for had got back to me about staying with her. I even emailed John, planning on her not being able to host me. But thankfully she was excited as me to meet up and have me stay with her and her boyfriend Alan at her place in central London. Wow im lucky!!!
did i mention how much I hate Detroit. Ha. So on my way to find the hostel I walked right past it to another street. I was asked to buy some smokes for this young girl who was like 14 maybe and her little brother. I said nah. I asked her if she had heard of this hostel and a light went off in her tiny brain that she could get me to do this for her. She says well if you get me these smokes I will take you right to the door. I told her listen you shouldnt been smoking at all so no way and I left her standing there shocked. Freaking kids why smoke, i just dont get it. So I walked back towards the water and ended up finding it. The reason I walked right by it was because the sign was half the size of a piece of paper. Very convienent. HAHAHa and to make matters worse it was in the basement as well. Thanks very much for being so helpful hostel ppl.
part 2part 2part 2

NO PICTURES haha
Nice place though. Girl from Poland was at the reception. When I checked in this older man was complaining about his room, and the lady told him she would deal with him later. She showed me everything and didnt make me pay for the deposit for the key cause im just that cool. I had the whole room to myself which was sweet and a bathroom and shower as well. Just because every other room had these facilities inside them EXCEPT for mine. HA she shouldnt have told me that and I would have thought "how lucky am i" , but no.
Changed up and went back out to find a good place to get some cheap eats and find a place to get my drink on. I really wanted to check out some good electronic music in the spirit of Brightons party aspect. Found another internet cafe in a convience store to do some research on where to go but it didnt really do me much good other than give me a few names. Went to the grocery store, got a sangy, and jumped on the bus downtown.
Managed to mark myself on the map as the bus kept
restoration on itailain floorrestoration on itailain floorrestoration on itailain floor

this is where royalty is crowned
stopping, but I got off a bit too early. Tons of all you can eats around here but it was getting late now and were all about close. Food is definetly not fresh by this time and its not like you get a deal at all so I passed. I actually wasnt too hungry even though my mind thought I was. I walked around town checking out different places for well over 2 hrs. I just couldnt be satisfied. Something was telling me to keep going. I tired myself out for sure. The club by the pier I saw had a few dj's at but absolutely no one was there outside of it other than the bouncer, so I couldnt bring myself to go in. Walked around and around and finally decided to find this one place called Culture 2 which I was recommended to go form the site. It was way back down the left side of the pier suppsedly past that one place Volks! So I was only there a night what the hell lets give it a try. It was closed. JEsus i was choked these kids were on the beach playing tunes and it looked like fun. Smoke was coming from there but i never really saw anyfire going. They were just blasting the BEats it was wicked. I hung out around there awhile and then kept on. I was starting to get tired and was looking forward to try watching some hockey back at the hostel.
SO I went to this one bar and they never let me in cause of my "trainers", so I got some fries with kebab meat which was odd and took off back home with some beers. GOt back and they didnt have the damn channel. It really wasnt my night tonight. I ended up watching this old soccer match and a bit of rugby while this old dude stumbled into the room and lit up a smoke right in front of the NO SMOKING sign. He couldnt even stand up straight and he musta been 60 hahaha- SO funny he never said a word, he just stumbled off with his smoke lit. I was tired and thought screw it i give up im off to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 27


Advertisement

Queen Victorias GraveQueen Victorias Grave
Queen Victorias Grave

Mary is underneath her body
Way outWay out
Way out

Damn didnt get the hillarious face! haha


Tot: 0.197s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 18; qc: 82; dbt: 0.0928s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb