Northern England


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Durham County » Durham
September 30th 2006
Published: June 29th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Cathedral ViewsCathedral ViewsCathedral Views

The two towers of Durham cathedral and the town beyond
Geo: 54.7682, -1.72513

Hey all from Durham, England. Finally decided to get on a bus, and head up to the north of the country for a different perspective on England. Had to run from Victoria station with my poorly packed bag, to make the bus by a minute at 9am. Wasnt too bad of a trip, took 6.5hours, and cost me 15£. Arrived in Newcastle in the late afternoon, and was picked up by uncle once removed Joe. Ill probably be staying here for around about a week id say. Joe ane Maureen have been heaps hospitable, and im sure itl be a pleasure to stay here. I just hope they feel the same about me hehe. Yesterday, after I arrived, Joe took me to see a couple things in Newcastle. After coming to unpack at Joe and Maureens house, i decided to go out. My second cousin Andrew, 23, and his girlfriend Katie, took me out to a few places around Durham. It was good fun. Today, ive been around Durham with Joe, my personalised tour guide 😊 We went to the 'infamous' Durham cathedral and did quite well, getting up the tower (all 350 odd steps), and also talking our
Doorway of Durham CathedralDoorway of Durham CathedralDoorway of Durham Cathedral

Me holding the knocker of Durham cathedral. This Cathdral was built around 11th C onwards to hold the remains of St Cuthbert. This knocker is evil lookin, and mysterious as it has a bullet hold in its head. noone knows why.
way into a tour of the Chamber of Commons, and monk prison cell. Also got to meet the mayor of Durham, and got a tour around the town hall. Then off to the Botanical Gardens, and also mining or "Pit" towns, where my grandad, Laurence would have lived and worked, back in the day.
Due to alot of tiredness going on just now, ive bailed on tonights going out.. I might join Joe for a pint locally later. Otherwise ill save myself for tomorrow night! Am going to meet more relatives tomorrow, and then go to a Sunderland soccer match at the stadium of light. Then maybe out later i hope.
All is going well here, im in good hands. Ive actually left my cable at Sarahs, so thats getting mailed through soon, and hopefuly i can upload more pictures early next week. Im trying to be a bit conservative on funds, cos i do want to get to Holland and Paris towards the end of next week i think.
Let me know how things are goin back home.
-Kristofor


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

Durham Botanical GardensDurham Botanical Gardens
Durham Botanical Gardens

Just a random shot of Durham botanical Gardens.
Durham CathedralDurham Cathedral
Durham Cathedral

The renowned Durham cathedral in all its glory.
Durham Cathedral CloisterDurham Cathedral Cloister
Durham Cathedral Cloister

A shot of Durham cathedral from the cloister.
Durham RiverDurham River
Durham River

Look out over the river that flows down below from the hill the cathedral is on. Some really nice walks down here.
Huge SpiderHuge Spider
Huge Spider

Huge Spider at Durham Botanical Gardens! Was as big as my hand!
Joe BridgeJoe Bridge
Joe Bridge

Joe in front of one of the main bridges in Durham i think
Kris Guild HallKris Guild Hall
Kris Guild Hall

myself in the Guild hall at Durham Town Hall. Im holding a ceremonial pike still used today by a bunch of 60 year old guys, supposively the mayors guard. hmm.
Kris the mayorKris the mayor
Kris the mayor

Me waving to my subjects on the balcony at Durham town hall. The last person to do so was Princess Dianna.
Kris ViewsKris Views
Kris Views

me looking out over Durham from on top of the Cathedral.
Lynn Terrace StreetLynn Terrace Street
Lynn Terrace Street

Street where my family may have lived near
Lynn Terrace Street signLynn Terrace Street sign
Lynn Terrace Street sign

Remember this Laurence?
The Mayor and IThe Mayor and I
The Mayor and I

Thats me standing next to the mayor of Durham. The huge ass chain he is wearing is made of gold, and worth an absolute fortune. He wouldnt let me take it back as a souvenir.
The Mayor and I.. and JoeThe Mayor and I.. and Joe
The Mayor and I.. and Joe

The mayor of Durham, with Joe and I either side of him
Thornley PitThornley Pit
Thornley Pit

There are these big wheels all around the countryside of northeast england. they basically commemorate coal mines (pits) that used to exist in many towns. this one is at thornley.
Views from Cathedral topViews from Cathedral top
Views from Cathedral top

350 stairs to the top was quite an effort, but the views from utop Durham cathedral are very rewarding
Wheatley HillWheatley Hill
Wheatley Hill

Wheatley Hill wheel commemorating the pit that used to exist here. my grandad was involved with this coal mine.


Tot: 0.049s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 13; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb