The final days of training....


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Swanage
October 23rd 2006
Published: November 8th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Rough weather day Rough weather day Rough weather day

Training in torrential rain and gales was great fun! A good test of my kit as well.
Well only a few weeks left now until I make my way to Nepal via Doha in Qatar, and then on up to Everest Base Camp.

My training has been steadily building up over the last few months to the pinacle that is the 8 hour walks I'm now having to fit in.

On the 24th Octobr 2006 I started my first 8 hour walk. Walk, walk walk is my life at the moment. That, circuit training and the exercises my physio has given me.

A typical week looks like this:


Picture the scene last Sunday. Waves crashing in on the South West Coast Path, howling wind and torrential rain.... oh and me plodding through it all. 😊 {photo to follow}

I ended up walking from Durlston Head, Dorset along the coast path to St Aldhems headthen back up via Worth Matravers back down to Seacombe and along the coast path again. I took a higher path this time as the wind made the lower path a bit scary.

Still one thought plays on my mind as I do this. Thank God I don't have to do this on a daily basis just to find water.

WaterAid recently sent me their latest newsletter which highlighted Sarah's plight. A Sudenese Women who has to travel 7.5 hours just to find water for her family.

Walking for Water - How far would you go?



Advertisement



9th November 2006

A Better World
Just think what a Better World we would all live in, if every single one of us, consciously, every now and again, done something worth while for our fellow man. Proud to be your mum Gareth - enjoy the Trip

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0572s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb