3 Days in Dorset


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Swanage
August 4th 2012
Published: August 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Following my stay in London, I took the train from Waterloo Station down to Wareham in Dorset. Sandra, my British friend, was waiting there in her black sports car to get me, and we drove to her home in Swanage, a lovely beach resort town on the coast. I'd been there to visit her two years previously and was delighted to be back for a 3-day stay. The weather was cool and windy. It would rain, and then all of a sudden the sun would come out, and then it would rain again. The sea was much too cold (for me,at least) to go swimming as I had last time, but I nevertheless took full advantage of the sea air and very much enjoyed my walks, not only in Swanage, but also further along the coast in Studland. I also made excursions to Durlston Castle and to Brownsea Island. I hope you enjoy the photos! (Note: I wrote this aboard a Virgin train from London Euston Station to Penrith in the Lake District. You get free Internet service on board in First Class, which was only a few pounds more than 2nd Class.)


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 22


Advertisement



4th August 2012

Why are "Old Harry's Rocks" called that? Who was "old Harry"?
Love seeing your photos.... looks like a lovely trip!
8th August 2012

I forgot to ask who old Harry was! Will find out. Are you still in Cambodia?
5th August 2012

Swanage, Studland - places I've never heard of. Hilary, you're really living life to the fullest!! How do you manage to stay on the road while I'm stuck to my desk paying bills and just trying to keep up from day to day? What an adventure you're having! Do you go back to Paris to re-group from time to time? With a new grandchild, I don't feel like going very far away. I'm an attached grandmere. Sending love from DC, Suzy
8th August 2012

Congratulations on your grandchild, Suzy. Hope to see you when ?I'm in DC in October. Hilary

Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 14; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb