Durdle Door


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Dorset » Lulworth Cove
October 17th 2021
Published: October 17th 2021
Edit Blog Post

"Leave life alone", is something a friend said this week. I was so taken by the sentiment I took the liberty of writing it down and quoting it here. It is oft said that when we get out of our own way and allow life to be as it is, magic happens. As indeed it did with this spontaneous trip to the Jurassic Coast, which on arrival was just as beautific beneath the autumnal clouds and rain as it was in the surprisingly warm mid October sunshine. Did I plunge into the cold clear waters of Durdle Door on both occasions? Yes. Skin bitingly cold, gratitude for the moment, for the day and for this life kept me warm inside. I stayed at the delightfully cosy Bear hotel, soaked in the bath, ate dinner and later strolled the quiet streets of Wareham stopping at an old English pub for a nightcap of spiced rum. I didn't sleep well. The morning however presented me with sunshine, and a penchant for exploring the south coast. So that's what happened. Another swim at Durdle Door followed by walks over Sandbanks and then a drive through the New Forest, stopping at the Pig at Brockenhurst. It was as cosy and welcoming and warm and utterly dangerously comfortable as I remembered it. Sinking into the sofa at the bar, cocktails and bar snacks and conversation with the staff ensued. Outside, darkness set over the Autumn day and ground fog covered the grounds of the hotel. A drive back to Surrey with good music and great conversation was the perfect end to a perfect day. Gratitude. Always gratitude.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



21st October 2021

Loving the discriptors you used.
I have not ever heard of Durdle Door and now find myself intrigued. I have wanted to plan a trip to the United Kingdom but was always unsure of the sites and places I wanted too see. The way you described durdle door captured my imagination. I now plan on looking at travel dates and details to plan for a future trip to the united kingdom to see this beautiful coast you speak of. Thank you so much for your review, and enjoy your holiday.

Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 16; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0667s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb