Day 14-Thursday 26th May-Taunton-Okehampton-50 miles


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon
May 26th 2011
Published: May 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

It has been a very blustery and showery day cycling today! However, it has been surprisingly ok as at times like these one can withdraw into ones shell and cycle on almost oblivious to the conditions! I had my third puncture along the Tiverton canal but enjoyed the lovely scenery along the length of the canal which gave me time to reflect on the dreadful B & B I had stayed in last night in Taunton. I was so relieved when I arrived there to discover it had a bath only to discover there was no plug and when I enquired about this the owner explained-"none of the bath have plugs as we are worried about people flooding the bathrooms and therefore the baths can't be used"!!!!! They didn't like the fact that I had asked for breakfast at 7am and when I went down to the dining room I could smell eggs-bacon and sausages being cooked. When I explained that I wouldnt be having the bacon and sausage -they said "its says full English on the website and that;'s what you are getting!". I eventually negotiated eggs-mushrooms and tomatoes and definitely won't be going back there!!!!
I arrived in Okehampton at 4pm in time to repair my puncture and book into a lovely B & B in Station Road which brought back old memories of when I lived in Station Rd- 20 plus years ago........
Mary came across from Chudleigh and we had a nice meal together in the Plymouth Inn........I resisted the temptation of returning home with her!
Jim

Advertisement



Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0802s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb