Glastonbury to Plymouth


Advertisement
United Kingdom's flag
Europe » United Kingdom » England » Devon » Plymouth
July 19th 2010
Published: June 22nd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 50.3704, -4.14265

Plymouth, England

We got into Plymouth about 4:22 and drove directly to the quay (pronounced key here in the UK) for our hour cruise of the coast of Plymouth. It would have been nice if it hadn't started sprinkling when we got into Plymouth. As we were crossing the jetty to get to the boat, local youths were using the jetty to jump into the bay. It was cool outside and that water had to be cold. Many of the swimmers had wetsuits on, but some just had regular swim trunks or t-shirts and shorts on. We had passed a couple of boys jumping off a bridge just after leaving Glastonbury earlier in the day. But that was a small river, and it was quite warm by then. This was cold, rainy, and cloudy and the water of the Bristol Channel. We passed the coastal sides of Bristol, saw some historical sites, and then passed the military ships and subs. It was lightly raining, so I used my umbrella on the top part of the boat. A few other were up there with me as well. The rain stopped for a short time, but still no sun. On the way back the rain came down in a light mist. When we got back to the dock, more locals were now jumping off the jetty. We passed the marker showing where the Pilgrims would have left when they headed for America. Across the street was a museum about the Mayflower. So, I asked Dave, the driver, about what time would we be getting back from the Cornwall driving tour tomorrow. He said we should be back about 3 p.m. I stated that I hoped I had time to come back and visit the museum before it closes, and then went to my seat on the bus. Dylan was at the back of the bus passing out our hotel room key cards. The hotel, Jurys Inn, was just up the street from the quay. We had to enter from the back due to bus parking restrictions in the front. One had to use your room key card, which Dylan had passed out on the bus, to operate the elevator. Once I got on the elevator (I was the last one to get a lift since there was no room for me on the other one), my key card wouldn't work. Another lady had already pushed level 4, so I rode up to her level and then had to push the level for the main lobby. Apparently, my card had expired since it has been an hour since Dylan had acquired it, so the receptionist just rescanned it. It worked. My hotel room is small, but serviceable. The view once again is below par. For the price I pay, one should expect better views! Dinner was at 7:30 and we were told that it was a buffet style dinner. However, this meant that you had to pick 1 item from a choice of 3 appetizers, 3 main meals, and 3 desserts. Nothing on the menu sounded appealing. I opted for the beet salad, but it was bitter. When the waiter came by and asked if I had liked it, I told him the truth; “I don't like beets or tomatoes on my salad, the dressing was bitter tasting, and I had noticed that where the dressing had landed on the beets, the dressing was no long white but red.” The waiter apologized and offered to bring out another appetizer (mushroom soup or tiny chicken wings on the bone…ick…just watching two of my table mates eating and gnawing on the bones about turned my stomach!). He also mentioned that the salads were pre-made when we arrived at the hotel. That was almost 2 hours ago!!!! The choices of the main meal (Chicken Kiev, Fish Pie, or Vegetable Lasagna) were not appealing once we got to the buffet tables. The waiters were behind the tables asking us which item we wanted. Even the creamy mash potatoes didn't look good. I tried the chicken Kiev. Not ever having it before, I was surprised when I cut into it, that there was a hole inside of it. It had some type of herb inside of the hole. I took a bite of the ends, and it tasted bad like it hadn't been cooked thoroughly. (Later on after dinner another member of my group had said the same thing.) The ones that had the Fish Pie (Think Shepherds Pie), said that there was not enough fish with the mash potatoes and that it was very bland. After I gave my dessert of 3 mini cream puffs away, I left the dining area. I stopped by the host's stand. They had a menu displayed that showed what one could order. They had the same items that we had, but with a whole lot more selections. Since, I had barely eaten a couple of bites at dinner, I ordered a Margherita pizza to take back to my room. While waiting for it, I went to the registration desk to get change for the vending machine so I could have a cold bottle of water. While standing there, Dylan came up to me, and asked if everything was okay. I said yes and that I was just getting coins for the machine. He then asked that if I needed to know the schedule of the day, I was to ask him. I said okay. Then he said that he had heard that I wanted to go the Mayflower museum along the quay and had wanted to know if we would have time after the tour of Cornwall. I said yes, but I asked Dave about it. Dylan then said again, that if I needed to know the plans for the day, I was to come ask him and not the driver! I said that I had just asked Dave when I got on. He cut me off and said that he was aware of it, but I should ask him next time. Luckily, the receptionist gave me my change so the subject was dropped. I went to get my bottle of water while Dylan took the group that was waiting on a 15 minute walking tour of the area (why go…everything is closed and the place is not in a safe area to be in). As I was getting my water, I saw Dave the driver sitting in the bar area finishing up his meal. (Dylan and Dave are not allowed to eat with the tourists and they have their own budget of what they can eat.) I let him know that I may have gotten him in trouble by accident. I related to him what had just occurred between Dylan and me. I told him that after that little incident, I am done with Dylan. Dave did respond that they are directed not to have any conversation with the tourists and that only the guide is to interact with them. I said that I was sorry to hear that since he was a lot more personable than Dylan. Dylan comes across as a brassy bold guy who is a little too stuffy for me. By then my pizza was ready to be taken upstairs on a tray and plate cover. I feel sorry for Dave having to sit alone during his meals except for having Dylan has his only companion to speak to. The pizza was okay, and I finished my blogging. I may purchase the internet service in the morning. It's good for 24 hours. I figure since I will be gone most of the day, it would better to purchase it then. Then when I come back to the hotel tomorrow night after visiting the museum, I can still have time to download everything from today and tomorrow. 75% of the group is participating in the farewell dinner. Good thing I did cancel. If I thought today's evening meal selection was poor, the dinner choices for tomorrow is worse!!! I caught a glimpse of the menu when Cherry was making her choices while we were heading to Plymouth. Dylan needed to know ahead of time so he could let the restaurant know what people wanted to eat. Not one thing on that list sounded appealing!!! Besides, why do I want to sit with people who barely gave me the time of day on this trip. And for those who did, only a handful did not come across as being condescending or snippy! It is about 10:45 p.m. and I am heading off to bed!


Additional photos below
Photos: 47, Displayed: 27


Advertisement



Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 14; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0238s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb